A NEW GAME AND A NEW USER - COMMUNITY BUILDING THOUGHTS FROM PAPA

in #new7 years ago

It has been getting a little more interesting lately!


First off, something interesting happened lately, and I'm not completely sure what to make of it. A new user just joined steemit.

I'm not always consistent at checking in at steemit.chat, but something interesting happened last time I did. Someone was asking around about me. Someone who was on chat, but not on steemit.... yet. Someone named @michaelbkearney.

He even private messaged me on steemit.chat, and had some of the following to say:

Hi Papa-Pepper. I have been reading a lot of your posts and comments and your success has made me want to join Steemit. I have been trying since Sunday April 23rd to join but I keep getting an error message and I can't find anyone to help me. Since you are a very good representative for Steemit, any chance you can help?


Interesting indeed. Well, before too long @michaelbkearney got in, and has now joined steemit. Hopefully we can get the full story about how he wound up "reading a lot of your posts and comments and your success has made me want to join Steemit" sometime soon, but I found this most interesting. It brings me back to recalling that the whole world can see what we've been up to online, and perhaps it will draw them in.

Anyway, here is a photo of @michaelbkearney:

If you want to help welcome him to the steemit community, check out his intro post or see the post about how bad he is at drawing.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@michaelbkearney/ok-i-m-in-now-i-introduce-myself-right-yes-ok-here-goes

https://steemit.com/drawing/@michaelbkearney/can-everyone-draw

MOVING ON - THE NEW GAME

I've created a new survival game contest for multiple reasons, and so far it is off to a great start. I'll share just a few of the reasons here, and mention that there is still time to join if anyone is interested.

BASIC CONCEPT

I wanted to help people look at things from a different point of view. Players of this game will be placed in an apocalyptic survival situation where they have to choose how to proceed from multiple options. I hope that it will not only be entertaining, but also an educational experience for those who participate and those who spectate.


TEAM PLAY

I've decided to start the game-play with two player teams. This will serve several purposes.

  • Community interaction - There are already teams formed from father/son, husband/wife, friend/friend and stranger/stranger combinations. Obviously some of them have relationships that exist outside of steemit, but I think that certain friendships will form and grow from this opportunity.
  • Longevity of the Team - Since this is a survival game, some players will end up dying. By having more than one player per team, the chances that the team will survive is better than the chances that the individual player.
  • Two Heads Are Better Than One - Some of the scenarios will be difficult to navigate and the correct answers may be hard to come by. With two players thinking and researching, the probability of the team succeeding is greater if there is more than one player.
  • Time Restraints - Each team will have to submit an answer every time I make a game post, which will be about daily. By having more than one player per team, the opportunity of each team not being disqualified for not responding will be decreased.

STEEM

Yes, STEEM has a role to play too! I began this contest with a prize pool of 200 STEEM. Since this contest may takes weeks to finish, I wanted to be growing an enticing prize pool. From my own pocket I've supplied the starting funds and, although others are free to donate, I plan on adding to the prize pool each roun. Honestly, I wouldn't be surprised if the final prize payout is 500 or even 1000 STEEM. We will see.

The contest will be based on elimination, so it may wind up that only one team will get all the STEEM.

DIVERSITY OF STEEMIT

While I'm always trying to encourage and inspire others and also build up the community, I also want to keep in mind what steemit as a whole has to offer. I think that an ongoing, educational, elimination contest will not only be engaging for the players, but it will also be entertaining to watch. Just to see what trial the teams face next and how they choose to proceed has got me excited. Some of the teams are already eating a snake, and the contest just started.

I plan on having this be Season One, and starting a new one once this one is over. The high amount of STEEM should be enticing enough, but hopefully the contest will have a lot more to offer. I'll cut off the entry deadline shortly, but you may want to get in while you can for this game!

To check out the beginning round of the Steem-Apocalypse Game Contest and see what all is going on, click the link below. It's the last chance anyone has to create a team and enter, so if you want in, find a partner, choose a team name, and make your first choice! Steem on!

https://steemit.com/steem-apocalypse/@papa-pepper/steem-apocalypse-survival-game-contest-round-1-plus-the-last-chance-to-join



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Very Interesting!


Now, I purpose we have a system where each new users pairs off with someone with a good rep. A mentor of sorts to introduce to the community and get them running!

Good idea. I call @michaelbkearney if he wants a mentor.

It could be like payit forward system. Now @michaelbkerney has to mentor someone. Actually, I'm going to do a growth-idea around this shortly. I'll let you know :)

Link me when you do so I don't miss it!

nice post, good jobs my friend 😉

Yup we're in it to win it!
Not feeling so good after being bitten by the snake, but I'm sure I can just walk it off.....

Maybe.....

Lol Im excited to see where your zombie apocalypse game goes.
Skrt

Thank you for introducing a new user)) But in the contest I would like to participate, but I'm afraid that my "bad English" will not allow this)))

All you have to do is pick one option each round. It shouldn't be too hard, plus, you'll get a partner to help.

Very kind of you @papa-pepper
Only you can do this for anyone especially the new ones. Thank you.

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow... you are kind of celebrity steemit technical support.

Technically, I'm not that technical!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57709.05
ETH 3100.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33