Crypto Mining Sucks…Crypto Earning Rocks!

in #new6 years ago

I don't wanna say it.jpg

I saw this article today about some folks setting up code to hack the innocent, unsuspecting and unaware good people of the world. Of course, this is nothing new. But this is the first time I've seen something it done to hijack another computer in order to enslave it for crypto mining. Admittedly, I'm new to the crypto world, so this may be old news to some of you, but to me, it shows the inherent flaw in "proof of stake" currencies.

Take for instance another article I read a day or two ago about some crypto mining systems being stolen (I think it was in Israel).The police think that the equipment is already out of the country. They believe the equipment was shipped to China and may already be up and running, making the new owners filthy lucre, Bitcoin style. I probably don't have the details on this one exact, but as I remember the article, these are the facts.

That's why I don't wanna say that crypto mining sucks…but I will.

It allows for thievery, whether by hacking or sacking (that is hacking someone's system to be a mining slave, or stealing mining equipment from others), with no community recourse. By that I mean, to the mining culture, it doesn't matter HOW you get your coin, just how much coin is in your account. It's like robbing a bank and getting your cash in small denominations, unmarked and non-sequential bills…thereby being untraceable.

But with STEEM, your earnings are based on your participation in the system, your reputation in the community and your eagerness to work. Better still, it is self policing, so that bad actors (plagurists, abusers and fraudsters) are usually identified and ferreted out fairly quickly. STEEM is an exponentially better, more egalitarian, not to mention fun, crypto earning regime!

Of course, if I'm wrong about any of this or you have different opinions, I'd love to hear about it in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

Here is the article: https://www.rawstory.com/2018/05/cryptojacking-spreads-across-web/

Sort:  

You got a 3.88% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @matthias-green! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 3.00% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @matthias-green!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23