You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Celebration of 2000 Followers... I Give You Honesty.

in #never7 years ago

I was a fucking idiot though. Such whales do not exist on this platform, or if they do, they pay little enough attention to what is going on here. I have known this for quite some time, which is why I stopped putting hours into my posts a good while ago now. I have no interest in having to play bingo for a payout after all I have given to the platform, and all the excellent content I once produced for the blockchain.

Your post got me in a reflective mood. It made me remember a post I had read sometime ago on how steemit works.

On one hand, I'm not happy that you're not gaining the attention you feel you deserve. It sucks and I know it. But is that reason enough to quit (no one mentioned quitting though).

The more I think about it, the less I want to be undisturbed by the absence of whales and all. I've been upvoted by a whale though but I think something else should hold our attention.

For me, it's an audience to read my works and interact with me. I feel it's the same with you too. It is true that many followers either aren't active or just want some kickback (that's why following me doesn't assure you of a follow). But I refuse to be bothered about all of that.

I used to write on Fiverr. I was earning $5 per post. I left because I felt I was losing my essence. I would devote my soul into a piece and have another have it as their own. It was killing me.

Maybe that's why I don't share your degree of frustration (plus the fact that the dollar has a lot of value in my country)

Abuses are everywhere. Good people are everywhere too. I think you have to make a choice. If not, you'll end up like those folks who all they do is rant about the wrongs on Steemit without contributing anything meaningful.

Blessings

PS: I follow people and comment on posts for recognition. I don't deny it. When I joined Steemit, I knew no one. I had to reach out and following and upvoting is just my style. These days, I don't do that anymore but I don't regret it either.

Sort:  

I must have done a very bad job of making my point clear in this post, for you are not the first that seems to be under the impression I am frustrated. I am not, and the post was about embracing gratitude and finding the bravery within yourself to do what you will at whatever cost.

Are you saying I misunderstood you? Well, I took another go at the piece just to be sure. It was then I noticed this:

I genuinely feel that I am in a far better position right now, than I would have been if I had used my brain to play the game or abuse the platform to my own ends. Sure, I have nothing in terms of money. But, I have educated myself in so many useful things, things that I would not have had to if I was earning enough. Also, I am in the best fucking health of my life thanks to an accidental discovery last year, that humans can survive without food for over five days.

I must admit that I didn't consider this in my previous comment. I was engrossed with the 'frustration' that the last few paragraphs passed me by.

I now understand that you are grateful for the experience. I'm sorry for misunderstanding you. Please forgive my error.

Thanks for your patience.

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63707.79
ETH 2610.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81