Can Neuroscience Prove How The Brain's Mood Is Linked To Our Perception of Reality?

in #neuroscience8 years ago (edited)

Recent research in neuroscience has shown that our happiness is not just an emotional experience that we all feel.

It has been show that the way we perceive happiness isn't just an emotional brain experience, but a shaper of how we perceive our reality as well.

Research from Ghent University by Naomi Vanlessen has challenged a theory called "broaden and build". In a nutshell this means that when your happy your attention zooms out to everywhere and you pay attention to multiple objects at a time. For example, when we receive any kind of good news we look around in a positive mood, and we are able to fire more creatively. New ideas for Steemit writings may suddenly pop into your head for example.

But, Naomi Vanlessen and her team have found that happiness doesn't alway lead to a more intense processing at a creative level. Some people have a much more diffuse experience.

When your in a good mood, you might be able to take in a range of subjects, but you may become less analytical about what is going on around you.

Some people with this diffuse style of cognitive thinking may have a polarity in thinking (everything is either good or bad) but they can't quite explain a reason for forming these judgements.

This cognitive diffusion has also been shown in experiments with rats brains too.

So my fellow Steemians, how does a positive mood make you feel? For me I'd say I'm the diffuse type - but I associate that with the interjection of ego into my creative thought processes - which I do try to block.

@mindhunter

EDIT: Link to the original science article: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27395341

Sort:  

Interesting news. I am more a kind of over-creative/over-excited guy when I am happy. I have never thought about this kind of things before reading this post (which turned out to be by total chance).... :)

By the way, do you think you could consider adding a reference to the original science article next to your post?

EDIT: Done are requested :) I know a lot of overcreative/overexcited types - I meet them in the comments section on here everyday! Ha ha!

lol!

Thanks for your positive attitude towards my request. This is the kind of request that actually sometimes triggers over-reaction (and some times total non-reaction) :)

The power of a balanced open mind eh! ... maybe my new avatar does mean something after all. Always a pleasure @lemouth. Steem on! ;)

Then don't pay too much attention to mine: a violent collision of protons :)

I'm a mass of dendritic fireworks !?*/! CRASH! BANG *?!!%

I do believe we need an #neuroscience tag on Steemit. Up-voted and Resteemed.

With the amount of intelligence on display here, I'm surprised it hasn't taken off yet!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's been a while steemit! @mindhunter you have a great looking logo! 😁😁🙌👍

Thanks Rissa! Always here if you need me OK!

UV and RS for you, of course.....

I like your logo you adapted and put up here recently. So that has put me in a good mood. LOL

Interesting points you make as always. I try and treat stuff every day like I did when I played sports: You don't get too up and you don't get too down, because that is living in the moment which is cool..... but if the moments control you, then you cannot make balanced and rational decisions.

TY for the support once again, I really appreciate it.

Hey Barry, thanks for the support. I came up with my new avatar today after intuition discussions with yourself, @merej99 and @liliana.duarte last night. I really wanted my new avatar to speak to me ... which it does! I came up with the design today. I really love it. I may do a post on its creation later to thank you all for it. <3 Steem on my friend!

If I contributed in any way, that would really be something! I do really like it, --- funny bc I noticed it right away, and it was similar to your graphic signature I noticed and I was like " Well, look at that --- very fitting" - it seemed very natural and seamless, it made sense. It just fits. Great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52