A great show on Netflix: "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend"

in #netflix6 years ago

Hello guys!

Today I just want to talk to you about a new show that I discover not long ago. I watched it during the last time I was sick, and really, it has made the job! I present you today a quite new Netflix show: "Crazy ex-girlfriend".

This show is produced by Rachel Bloom and Aline Brosh McKenna. There are already two seasons, and a third one was announced in 2017. The first season has 18 episodes while the second has only 13 episodes. Each episode lasts a little more than 40 minutes.

In my opinion, this is totally not a serious show. I watched it with no expectations and so I was not disappointed by the turn of this show. It is not extraordinary but if you are like me a series addict without inspiration for the moment, it stills worths the watch!

The story

The script is very simple but quite effective: a little girl falls in love with a boy during a stay in a holiday camp. At the end of the camp, Josh (the little boy) leaves her without any sadness (it's not a spoil, it happens in like the 5 first minutes of the show). Then, you find her again some years later in New York, as a great lawyer in a prestigious office. But she is not happy and has to take some medication to go on. One day, during an anxiety crisis, she meets again Josh, her first holiday lover, who talks to her about his happy life in a little town in California, West Covina. During their conversation, he says to her that she has to contact him if she comes in West Covina. What follows is quite easy to guess: she leaves her home and New-York to go live with Josh, the love of her life. But what she does not know is that maybe Josh has already someone else in his life... As I said at the beginning of this article, it is a very simple show but it is always nice to watch that kind of show when you are not looking for something in particular and when you want to pass the time in a nice way. I let you discover the rest of the story by yourselves!

My opinion

I was not totally convinced after the first episode, but I still give it a try and I do not regret now. It is a very funny show, with a lot of cultural references that are easy to get and quite effective. I found the characters all very interesting and endearing, each in their own way. What I did not know for the first time was that there are moments of musical by the characters, and at the first sight that is not what I like. But it is so light and dispersed in the show (I think that there are no more than 2 moments like this in one episode), that it is not so disturbing.

But that is not only a comedy show, you have also more serious moments of emotions and the mix of both makes a pleasant result to watch. There are also a lot of comical situations, where you cannot expect what is finally happening. I read some critics of the other seasons of "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend", and I think the style remains quite the same. Through all episodes, you become closer to the characters personality and feelings, sometimes hating them sometimes loving them! They are sometimes quite extreme in their character, but I think that this is a part of the show.

Moreover, I like watching series in which the main producer is also the main character (or at least one of the character), and "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" is realized in that way, with Rachel Bloom as the main character (Rachel), and the producer. You can also watch the show "Girls" with Lena Dunham, in the same type of series produced by one of the actors.

To be honest, I am just at the end of the first season, but I will definitely watch the two other seasons as soon as they arrive on Netflix. As I said, it is maybe not THE show of the year but you have to give it a try! Don't hesitate to send me your opinion in the comments if you have already watch it!

Sort:  

In my country there is also similar production like the show you mentioned in this article. For me it is funny show, because in Polish version there are a lot of jokes and entertainment.

I didn't watch Netflix version but after reading this article I will check it. Thanks a lot for this post and presentation of the show.

Hope it will be a good idea to spend my free time :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I think we can all relate to that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71