You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traditional Houses In Nepal

in #nepal6 years ago

In the Kulu Valley area of the Himalayas where I lived for many years, the village houses are usually built so that the animals occupy the ground floor and the human family the second floor. The upper floor where humans live has very small doorways, and no windows, but is surrounded by a wooden veranda/balcony on which much of the living takes place. The inner rooms are only for sleeping and cooking, and can be kept warm very easily in the winter because of the thick walls, small doorway and no windows.

ManaliHouseTwo48e49c6737b9ee995dd0d55a7405d1d4.jpg

Sort:  

You say you lived for many years in the Kulu Valley. That sounds like a story I'd like to hear about. What brought you there, and what caused you to stay? A lot of people it seems, go to such places to get away, to find themselves, etc. The duration can be a couple weeks to maybe a couple years. Beyond that sounds almost like settling down and carving out a life. :)

Why don't you write a fictional account and make a post out of it? We'll see how close to the actual events you might come :-)

Interesting. :) I'm afraid, though, the way my mind works, I wouldn't even attempt to come close to what really happened. I'd come up with less likely scenarios and go with that. Like you followed in the footsteps of Batman or something. :)

Thank you so much for adding that picture and explanation @onceuponatime. That area looks a bit higher than where I was although it might just have been a different time of year.

@glenalbrethsen and I were wondering why the houses in my pictures had a bit of a western look to them i.e. a rectangular shape with a triangular roof. I think the one you've posted is probably more what most people would imagine when thinking of Nepalese houses.

Did you live in a traditional house like that when you were there?

Thank you so much for the upvote by the way. It really is hugely appreciated. 😍

Yes, I lived in houses like that. Manali area, where I lived, was at about 8,000 feet altitude.

Well I'm absolutely gutted now @onceuponatime. After reading your comment I went in search of my souvenirs from Nepal to see how high I actually got on my trip only to discover that I chucked out the envelope with all my momentos in, when I had a big clear out earlier in the year.

It had been lying around for a couple of years and I thought "one less thing for the kids to have to deal with".

I was planning on writing some more posts and using the contents of my envelope to remind me where everything was. Why of why did I decide to have a clear out? 😢

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67