Nepalese Newborn At Home For Visitors

in #nepal6 years ago


Nepalese Fire Guard?


When we were invited into this Nepalese house by this new born's mother, the baby was lying on a mat about 10 inches away from the fire, albeit with a tree branch as a sort of fire guard!!!

I was delighted when she picked the baby up and asked if I'd like to take a photo.


y4inprug7i.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!


Until then my heart was in my mouth.

This is the first photograph I took. 😱


v6bycrkctw.jpg

Such cultural differences are what make travelling such an education and joy of course but it can feel a little shocking at times! 😊

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest.

Sort:  

"tree branch as a fireguard" ! I know that's not meant to be funny, but it is! I too would have been a little nervous with all of that, but mom and baby seem just fine with it :)

Yes. Sometimes I think we've gone a little safety mad @lynncoyle1 but that was a bit close for comfort for me. 😊

howdy there @gillianpearce! hey what were ya'll doing in Nepal? she isn't just making sure the baby is warm?

I was just travelling in Nepal @janton.

She maybe making sure the baby is warm although it wasn't a cold day and that is a cooking fire. 😊

howdy again gillianpearce! well..then I don't know. I reckon she knows what she's doin. Unless that's her first one and she doesn't! yikes.

Hey @gillianpearce if i took it correctly those fireguards are kind of stove used for cooking too....quite common in rural india. When there was no gas supply ..many people have used to make stove from mud and use wood and coal to burn those stove ...they keep the utensil on top......this is what i can relate too. Also it act as as firguard to keep the room wRm

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep. It's a cooking stove @steemflow. The fireguard I was referring to, tongue in cheek was the piece of wood in front on it. 😁

Thank you for visiting and for posting the extra information.

That was a good take. 👍 have you been to India as well ? Nepal is close by

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I've been to India @steemflow but not on that trip. I did some work in Mumbai and then took some time after to go to Dehli and visit the Taj Mahal. 😁

Ohhh thats pretty nice...you have seen the best thing in India. Love symbol Taj Mahal 👌

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember seeing very similar sights in India and Pakistan, it is indeed things like this that bring the Cultural difference to the forefront.

But if they saw how babies are raised int he West it would probably be equally shocking for them

if they saw how babies are raised int he West it would probably be equally shocking for them

I agree @tattoodjay. it's shocking to me! 😂

All the paraphenalia that seems to be required these days is mind boggling .

Ohh yeah I think the same I guess that showing my age LOL

Your post has been featured on our Daily Report for September 3, 2018.
Next time maybe you'll get luckier and besides being featured on our daily report also win our 100% upvote.
Until then, Steem on and continue to provide quality original content!

(How to gain our 100% upvote otherwise, you may check on our blog.)

Thank you for the feature @upvocur. 😊

It was our pleasure! 🙂

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gillianpearce from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.60
ETH 3846.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51