Prayer Flags Nepal

in #nepal6 years ago


Prayer Flags at Boudhanath Stupa


I took this photo in the square surrounding the Boudhanath Stupa in Kathmandu which is one of the largest spherical stupas in Nepal. It is easy to get to on public transport as it's only 6.8 miles from the centre of the city.

Prayer flags are colourful rectangles of cloth, commonly found strung along mountain ridges and peaks in the Himalayas. They are used to bless the surrounding countryside and to let prayers fly out on the wind.

Traditionally, prayer flags come in sets of five colors which are arranged left to right in a specific order. The colours are blue, white, red, green, and yellow and each represents one of the five elements.


prayer flags

Click on the image to view full screen!

Previously posted on the account @gillianpearce

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Like Something Your See Here?

Most art posted is for sale - crypto or fiat.
Please leave a message here or on Discord if you would like to know more.

Sort:  

Thank you artysteps! You've just received an upvote of 72% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86