Write well? Not many upvotes? Here's whysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #neoxian5 years ago

I've seen a few good posts on here already from amazing writers that have given a solid list of things you can do as you build your writing skills and earn a reputation for yourself on Steemit.

But being a good writer just isn't enough.

I bet you know what I'm talking about, right? Yeah..

1) Engage with your audience

2) Make them feel in the comments section

3) Yadda yadda...

You can whack out the worlds best post on here, engage with everyone on your feed and have it slip under the mat with the rest of the .01c posts. If you don't make yourself known at all, then just writing and not making any connections will have you falling short of the steemit life you really deserve.

Interested? Read on.

It's mostly about the connections you make; very little about your content at the beginning

You could be an amazing writer, but if you don't go out there and sell yourself then you'll never get anywhere. I've heard people tell me that trying to get to know people with big stake is selling myself out, but how do you think we get noticed in the real world? The process is the same. We try to get close to people with connections and then (providing we have value to them) that opens up a lot more doors for us.

So getting yourself into a big community at the start is a must. You'll sink otherwise.

Stand out. Create value

Great, so you're in a community; what do you do now? There are hundreds of people in there!

Well, firstly think of what you can add to the community. Personally I like to go for uniqueness -- having something that isn't there, or is lacking usually stands out like a sore thumb. 

People won't want to know you if you don't have any value to them, and no matter what anyone says, that's how life works. So add something unique to the community; be that your awesome personality, or your fondness for creating quirky on-chain apps, just bring something to the table that stands out.

No-one ever remembers mediocre. When you think of five years ago you only really remember those that make an impression. Make a lasting impression. Make sure people will remember how you made them feel.

Most importantly, write well. If you don't know how to write well; learn how to! When you eventually get people curious the first thing they'll do is check out your Steem profile whether they tell you or not!

Make sure those headings stand out! You have 2 seconds to catch attention. Make it matter. My day at the beach just won't cut it :)

You are your brand

Maybe you haven't been doing this for a long time, which is fine, but you'll need to hold yourself to the same standard as your writing everywhere you go and vice versa. Think of it as an never ending personality building process -- as your writing grows; so do you.

Be kind, but don't let anyone take the piss. You don't need to be an asshole to get what you want. You can be a decent person and get what you want too -- the trick is to not let anyone take advantage of you. And boy they will if you let them. Just be on your guard, but also let people in.

Invest in Steem & Your community

One thing that really saddens me is the amount of selling going on right now. So many sells, not many people buying. The hardest part of that will be when Bitcoin halves again, and the bubble proceeds, and then Steemit & Tribes skyrocket, everyone will complain that the price is too high and whales aren't voting enough. Yet the opportunity to buy a fuckload of coins was right now, when the price was cheap as chips. Don't look this gift horse in the mouth. Seriously.

Community leaders will also notice that you're interested in being part of their community rather than just in it for all that you can get. I expect most communities are absolutely dying for real believers in their coins right now.

Part with a small amount of your cash. Stake it up. You know you want to.

Most importantly make it work

I have been floating around the content-cryptosphere since voting bots came into fruition and people stopped voting me looking for a new home since last year. None of the other places worked for me. There was always something that had me questioning more. 

Thankfully I found the city of neoxian and I feel right at home there. Make it work like this for you too. If it doesn't fit like a glove, try on another community. You don't *have* to fit in everywhere.

My science teacher said there's someone for everyone in the dating world. I believe that now, and I'd take it as far to say that there's a community out there waiting for you. Go and find it! :)

You got this! :)

Sort:  

I agree with you. My posts sometimes stay low, but that is because the community I chose #steemitmamas is small, and that is just the way I like it. By way of tribes, I have found that marlians is where I best fit, and my payouts and token value show it. Hopefully in the next bull market it will show $$$ if not, it is ok, because Marlians is about more than "bulls and bears" it is about human connection... still a bear would be nice.


Posted via Marlians.com

I absolutely agree. There's more value in the experience you have in a community than just payouts, this is true.

I've always liked the concept of steemitmammas but I can't join because I'm a steemitdad lol. I'm trying to get my own thing started - #dadsincrypto - so far, with not much luck :)

I chose the city of neoxian because it's ripe for the picking. Owner is always on the lookout for people to add stuff to his city. I'm like, okay, I can do this, this, this and that. My eyes went all big and shiny when I first saw it lol. The whales addition was a recent development, which to be fair, is a nice addition.

But just you wait. The next bull run will be a doozy. Those that are stacking will be very well rewarded. I think John McAffee said he'd eat his own dick if Bitcoin didn't reach the $1m mark by 2020

The message everyone needs. Nice post. Resteemed.
Neoxian city rules 😉

Thanks man! I appreciate the love :)

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @raymondspeaks.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

Oh man, your articles are awesome. I'm also one of the frustrated individuals for not being rewarded during my early days of steem. But I'm able to see for sure how my writing has improved over the course of years. Thanks for another great article.

Thanks man! Mine has too - I for sure wasn't this good at the beginning. I also know that English isn't your first language, so you're doing amazingly well! I dread to think what an article would be like if I tried it in your language. Hahaha

Ha ha ha. Yes when I was young I used to be stubborn that I shouldn't learn English. I always wanted to be multilingual but had so much hatred on English. Things gradually changed after I realized that it was a childish thought. 😀😊

If I had stayed dumb with just my native language alone, I would not got good friends from all over the world. But now I'm convinced that I don't have to be proficient but it is enough if I can communicate and make others understand what I'm trying to convey. 😊

Yeah, see, English is the business go-between language. I feel us native speakers can sometimes get a bit lazy, and also expect too much from non native speakers. Sometimes I want to say to some people that are giving foreign speakers a hard time, "well how many languages do you know then?!!" lol

My wife knows 4 languages; I know only English. I wish I knew more :)

Yes that is quite true. You will not believe if I tell you that there is no job for people who don't speak English in India. At least now the situation is changing a little bit. But before a few years back, even if you are capable of moving mountains with your mind, you still don't have the job if you don't know to speak English. That's what corporate companies expect. But things are getting better I should say.

Excellent points in your post. Thanks for the suggestions. I've found 3 amazing communities, steemitmamas, innerblocks and freewritehouse for my writing.

All fun communities!! :) - Hope you're having a good time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37