Needlework Monday : Felt cow toy - tutorial 🐄

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago

Welcome to my third needlework Monday. Today I will share with you a simple tutorial for felt stuffed cow toy.

I have always loved sewing with felt, I think it is probably the first encounter I had with needle and thread :) I usually use recycled felt that is made out of recycled plastic bottles, how they make it so soft and gentle I have no clue but it's an easy material to use and you can make almost everything with it. I made earrings, brooches, magnets, toys and necklaces. Let's see how my toy cow turned up...

Lovecow.jpg

I found the pattern for this project a couple of years back somewhere, I think it was on Pinterest, but I'm not sure. Try to look it up because you can print it out. Since I don't own a printer I had to rely on my drawing skills and draw a pattern on a piece of paper to use it.

YOU WILL NEED

  • needle and thread (in red and white color)
  • red, white and chequered felt
  • two red buttons and two small black ones
  • cotton wool (or any other stuffing you prefer)
  • paper and pencil to draw pieces of your cow or a printed pattern
  • scissors
  • glue gun

IMG_20171215_174630.jpg

FIRST STEP
Draw different parts of a cow on a piece of paper and cut it out with your scissors. You will need to have 10 paper parts which you can see in my picture below. I have written letters C, W, R on the parts that correspond to chequered, white and red felt that you will later cut using these paper pieces as your molds, and the numbers 1, 2, 4 that tell you how many felt pieces you have to make.

IMG_20180219_104914.jpg

SECOND STEP
When you have your paper pieces, use them to cut the same shapes out of felt. You could cut the felt directly but I have found it easier to first make the paper molds as a help when cutting felt. This is how your work should look like by now:

IMG_20171215_184938.jpg

THIRD STEP
Now you sew. I first sew the small parts of the body, legs, horns and arms (yes, I know cows don't have arms) and then stitch them on the body when I am doing the body. As you come close to an end of a part, stuff it with cotton and then finish it.

When doing the body, I first sew on the mouth and heart and then go on with sewing the whole body together by placing one piece of felt on the bottom, small parts on it and the second piece on top. This way, when you sew, you will sew the small pieces on to the body of a cow. When you come to an end, stuff it with cotton and finish it.

At the end of this project, use a glue gun to glue the eyes.

DIFFERENT VARIATIONS
You can use any colors you like, chequered felt or dotted or plain. Have fun with it. My little cow was lonely so I made her a boyfriend :)

bluecow.jpg

For more different projects and ideas, just search the #needleworkmonday tag on steemit. You will find a lot of lovely things for you to try out :) See you next Monday!

border24.png

Have you heard of HAPPINESS CONTEST? It is a chance for you to win some SBD by being happy! Just click on this picture below and read all about. Happy to see you there!

<happiness logo.jpg>

Sort:  

Your talents are endless :)

Thank you darling, it is so nice of you to say that 💚

They are so cute and excellent instructions!

Thank you very much! 💚

We love sheep and cows around here @zen-art ! Your instructions are very clear :)

That is so nice to hear. I would have used more pictures but am grateful you tolerated these ones. I really have to get my self a new camera :)

Awwww these cows are super cute!!! I love the checkered pattern and the hearts added to them! Thank you for sharing the ‘how to’ with us!!!! Great job on these little cuties! 😊

Thank you @crosheille, coming from a pro like you it means a lot 💚

You’re very welcome! Awww you’re so sweet!!! Thank you~ 😘 Although I don’t consider myself a pro yet...not until I can write and create more patterns lol! 😅

cuties!
you really are creative on many many levels aren't you?

I try :) Instead of working on my bad stuff, I work on my good stuff and make it even better. Is that cheating in self-development? LOL :D

That is just so lovable. Reminds me of the cartoon cow and chicken. A good laugh.

Me too :D When I first made a red one, that was my first thought, they look so alike :)

Cow with gingham check pattern, it is very cute.
It is a very good idea.

Thanks @sumi, I think they are cute too.

Boths cows are lovely and I am in awe... so many details. (I wrote it already in a different comment, I am more for the big and rough projects:-D) I always admire someone who can work such delicate things.

The blue one came out looking a bit funny, but boys always look funny so I am ok with it :)
Thank you for leaving your lovely comment. 💚

My mom made stuff animals for us children and most of our clothing. I like the cow it is very cute.

I love your cows, @zen-art! So very cute, and your tutorial is very easy to understand. Happy #NeedleworkMonday!

Thanks @crystalize, I am super happy to hear tutorial is a success 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42