Irish Crochet Dress: The Annoying Bit

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago

Hello my Steemit #needleworkmonday friends!

So my Irish crochet dress is finished...

well...

kind of...

I'm at that stage where I've completed the crochet part - sleeves and all...

...but I can't really call the dress finished...

hence the title - 'the annoying bit'.

So yes, I've done the sleeves although it was a somewhat uncomfortable experience in my caravan (campervan)...

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010084 (Copy).jpg

My biggest worry with them was the area where the chest meets the underarm - I've seen quite a number of crochet dresses with a lot of tension in that area, which didn't look very nice.

So my solution was to stuff the upper part of my modeling dress to replicate the shape of the body.

I ended up with a weird looking 'mannequin', lying around the caravan...

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010088 (Copy).jpg

Most of the time when I wasn't working on it, it spent wrapped up in an old sheet, looking like this:

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010095 (Copy).jpg

I had to make sure the lace in the underarm region doesn't have any tension and I think I've achieved what I wanted.

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010096 (Copy).jpg

And as I was completing the second sleeve, I rushed to take this picture of the 'final'(or so I thought) moment... :

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010100 (Copy).jpg

Only to realise that when I finished the dress, it wasn't really finished - there was another mountain to climb:

The lace at the bottom of the dress and sleeves had to be evened out and completed with a simple single crochet line and a little picot here and there.

That finishing single crochet line was, thankfully, very easy and quick.

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010104 (Copy).jpg

But the 'evening out of the lace' bit was quite tricky.

While the bottom of the dress doesn't have to be as even as in sewing, it still has to look somewhat even, which I'm still not sure about. It's just that on a flat table the bottom looks even, but when you wear the dress, because there are different elements on different sides, there seems to be an illusion of one side being slightly shorter... I'm still thinking whether or not I should do something about it.

Another very time-consuming bit is the weaving in and hiding of yarn ends - there are hundreds of them!

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010102 (Copy).jpg

And although I've been working on them for the last number of days now, I'm still nowhere near to being finished...

The dress has many overlapping elements like this rose and leaf.

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010109 (Copy).jpg

As I was crocheting the lace, I didn't realise I had to crochet some lace to join the overlapping sides of the elements to avoid holes like this:

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010107 (Copy).jpg

I actually thought I had finished fixing the overlapping elements, but as I was taking photos for this post, I discovered a few more that have to be corrected...

When the sleeves were finished and I tried on the dress, I realised that the neckline will have to be adjusted.

All of a sudden, because of the weight of the sleeves, the neckline became too wide which meant I had to add another layer of leaves-flowers-branches on the shoulders and the back in order to adjust the way the dress sits (sorry, don't have the 'before and after' shots at the moment).

The last elements I'll be working on when all the above are finished, is the little Swarowski beads.

1904_EdenasProcessed__rankoves_baigimas-1010110 (Copy).jpg

I'll sew them on in the centre of each bigger rose and some leaves around the neck - it'll add some sparkle, especially when the dress is worn in the evening with artificial lighting.

So this is where I am at.

My original plan was to have the dress finished-completed-done-and-dusted on the 31st March...

...but here I am, still at it :-D

Get a hobby, enjoy your life!

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmpUmRdyWBnxpTnWgmkr84ZF44NS6dxdTu2ngubz3Q9nkLK3WgTafnfpQAQzmN.jpg

All photos and text is my original content.

You can see copyright signs on photos because they were taken for my blog www.curioustovisit.com .

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

Sort:  

Goodness - so much more than making the elements and bringing thrm together. Lots of technical details to sort out to get the right fit and appearance. I wonder if you hung the dress for a day or two (maybe on a well-padded hanger) it would start to even of its own accord. I have seen mention of hanging in a bathroom where there is steam in the atmosphere, but not sure about recommending it for something as delicate and complex as this. Ah, sewing in ends .... 😊

Thanks @shanibeer !
Not sure about hanging it, I suspect it might start stretching down too much. I'm half thinking of contacting the person I bought the instructions from and see what her suggestion would be.

Yes the sewing of the ends is a 'special' moment in any project ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Contacting the person who sold you the instructions sounds like a good plan!

First the pro: every little detail on your dress is absolutely stunning. THe flowers are so beautiful, the composition, the colours...
But the finishing touches - oh man - I get ill by only reading this 😂 Sewing in so many yarn ends. Or sewing on little pearls. Both are frightening task (for me)
Your Voodoo puppet - ahem model - is such a clever idea to get the underarm area fitted. THis is always tricky, not only in crochet. I have some knitted sweaters/cardigans which bulk in this area or are to narrow for my liking.
I send you patience and I am looking forward to the next step in this wonderful artwork.

Many many thanks @neumannsalva !
Yeah those never ending yarn ends are already giving me nightmares:-DDD

Ha! The Voodoo model definitely worked a magic trick ;-) this area is definitely a tricky one whether in knitting, crochet or sewing. I was relieved that my solution worked!

Thanks for sending me lots of patience, I'll need it!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @vliet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh no! Despite this amazing beauty, I am not ready to repeat it. I admire your hard work and perseverance in hard work !!! finishing touches are always the most difficult

Thanks @tali72 ! Perseverence in this project is the key... especially with those finishing touches... :-D

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks cool. I would like to see someone is wearing it. :)

Thanks @nesn996 !
Yes, taking the pictures of the finished dress is definitely on the cards!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I see you list March 31st as your original planned completion date... you aren't missing that by much! So close! And it looks amazing. So much detail in your photos, thank you for sharing.
It is not like your March 31st date was LAST March... I have had a few of THOSE projects. :)

Thanks @jamethiel for your encouragement!
Hahaha! I also know all about those LAST March deadlines... I'm determined for this dress not to turn into one.. . ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's looking wonderful, @vliet. I look at that crochet hook size 0.6mm and sigh ! Well done - all good things take time !

Thanks @cryptocariad !
Sometimes I feel those good things take TOO MUCH time... but I'm getting there ;-)
According to the original instructions I should have used a 0.5mm hook size, but I couldn't find one to buy (couldn't believe it) so went for a larger size...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91