Handmade Crocheted Steemit Hat!

My husband @getonthetrain asked me to make him a Steem hat...here is the result! What do you think?

There is no pattern for a Steem hat, that I could find, so I had to get creative. I recently made my daughter a My Little Pony Pinkie Pie Hat so I 'borrowed' the pattern for the main hat, and just adjusted the number of stitches and increases to make it big enough for my husband's head. I had to keep putting it on him to check it was big enough, it fit my head model perfectly, but J has a bigger head than that!!!

It didn't take me too long to make the main part of the hat. It was just a series of single crochets, increasing in number for the first 8 rows. I chose a white background so that the logo would pop.

Next came the tricky part, especially as this is only my third crochet project!! I looked at the Steem logo and thought about how I could recreate it in crochet stitches. I played around with a combination of slip stitches, single crochets, half double crochets and double crochets. I was fairly pleased with the end result. As I sewed each section on, I twisted the ends to give the curved effect.

What do you think? J's response was "you know how people have like a 'thinking cap' well now I have a steeming cap for when I write my posts!"

After I made it, I thought that the colours and crochet stitch I chose made it seem more feminine, so now I am going to steal this one and make him another one!

I am fairly proud of the end result

Who do you think wears it better?! If you would like to make your own I can share the pattern with you :)

Sort:  

That is too cool! I'll bet other people in this community would like one of those!

Thank you, that is so sweet. I can help you make one if you would like?

What a cute hat , so cool . And agree it looks femine on @getonthetrain, suit with you more. I Want one!

Thanks <3 I am so excited so many people liked it. I can help you make one if you would like?

That's adorable. I'm a big fan of @getonthetrain writing. Sorry I know him by that name. He is a great writer.

Thanks. I will let him know!

This is awesome I'm an artist but I work with painting and drawing and such Ive always wanted to learn how to do this kind of stuff or make costumes even

good job 😀

There are a lot of great YouTube videos which will help you learn the basic stitches. This is only my third project, so I am still learning too! You should have a go. When I watch Project Runway I feel like I can make clothes too...maybe one day 😉

Ohhhhh my goooooodness look at you go, @thriftymum! I love it! So fantastic Steem hat! And you have some pretty fine looking models, there too. So willing. Heeee! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear. Resteeming!

Thank you so much 💗 I was looking at some of your #needleworkmonday posts yesterday and they were amazing. I'm glad you like mine.

Thank you so much, @thriftymum! The lampmaking is a labor of love! I'm honored that you looked!

I am a lady's lover,,,i think its the lady that wears it better....lets steemit....waiting for mine (hat)

Haha I agree 😉

What a wicked hat!! Awesome crochet too = D

Thank you 😀

Did you participate today? I’m heading over to your blog to see :)

No I didnt! I've been really busy with some Green Party items at the moment so crochet has had to take a seat for a wee while!

Thanks for checking though =D

I'm hoping to start some crochet videos soon

Great hat! You can really see the logo when it’s worn.

Of course you wear it better.

Haha thank you 😀 I just saw your #needleworkmonday post, your little catman is so cute!

What a great idea. It turned out great. The girl goes more.

Thank you 😀 I had fun making it up as I went. I really liked your butterflies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60778.23
ETH 2434.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55