You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My crafting walk of shame - how many ufos are enough?

So many beautiful pictures... I know from experience how haunting an unfinished project might be. There it lies, on the shelf, this faulty drawing, serving me some guilt trips... You know, I had a rough moment couple of weeks ago. I was very very frustrated with how I organize myself and how I'm always working without having anything done really. I've changed my modus operandi a bit and decided to FINISH what I started, and do one thing at a time. Works really good for me, but it's not easy to stick to this strategy. The minute I get bored and frustrated, or unsure what to do next while I'm sitting on a task/project/artwork etc. I tend to abandon it and I had some hard time changing this habit. But I'm getting used to it, so there is hope haha!
As always I adore your sense of humour and I'm very glad that those unfinished goodies could be used as a fantastic content for this heart-warming post.
Love,
Klaudia

Sort:  

This sounds like a major change and I this is always hard. I do not know if you work as a freelancer but if you do (like me) I think one of the most difficult tasks is the self-organization. To find a balance between discipline and being content without having tackled everything. I very often feel like I did not do enough, because there is no one I can compare myself with, I only have the (sometime unrealistic) goals I set myself. So, I understand your wish to finish something, to have a product in your hands - but while painting, filming etc. I seldom work on more than one project. Often these projects are not doable in one sitting (especially with filming which sometimes take half a year to be concluded), but I normally do not start something else.
As you read, this is completely different with knitting or crochet. Although I wrote of shame and repentance, in reality I am a shameless wool and new project addict 😁😁 (if not, there would not be so many projects) Only my wish to wear the sweaters is driving me to finish them ... if not for this drive, I probably would star daily a new project...
I so hope your new technique works and you are fine (if you anytime want support or simply whine together you can write me on steemit chat or discord😊 )
big hugs to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58