Top-down cardigan experiment - progress so far :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Here it is - going nicely and only three mistakes so far. One I've ignored completely (a line of seed stitch in the middle of my moss stitch - it's a tweedy wool and textured pattern - no one will notice) and two I fixed. That is, I didn't go back and re-do the line of stitching, instead I cobbled up two stitches to make up for the increases I forgot to do. Again, no one will notice, or if they do, I'll embroider over it - this is a go-for-it garment.

So far, I've spent about six hours on it, I think, including the first sample. I'm nearly at the bottom of the yoke with five more increase rows to go. I won't get that done in time for this post as I shall be out all day, so I put the yoke so far on to waste yarn to try it on and take a photograph.

20181230_192051.jpg
You can't see the seed stitch mistake, it's on the back panel. Thinking about it, it could be a deliberate design feature to delineate the yoke :) I'm pleased with the cardigan so far - lovely and soft and very light. I didn't plan it but the buttonholes fall every ten rows, so it's an easy way to check where I'm up to.

I was very pleased with the fitting:

  • the neck line sits really comfortably without stretching or rucking.
  • the front bands overlap perfectly.
  • the whole thing draped softly and just fell into place.
    There are still another ten rows and five increases to go and I reckon the fit will be perfect (not bad for guesswork)! I will add some more stitches under the arms, probably four on either side, but I'll see when I get to that stage.

Altthough I let my attention wander once or twice and ended up with mistakes, these are very easy to spot and correct before you get too far on with further rows. I like the way the patterning is working out with the increases. The neckline is a very simple purl row and then into the moss stitch pattern (I dislike ribbing). I may add a collar if I have any wool left.

I'm planning the next one, which will be in Rowan Cocoon - a dark forest green (now discontinued, which is why I have it). There's only six balls, but I have another three in purple, (also discontinued, but in the sale before last) , so I'm thinking about some bands or blocks of colour. The texture of the moss stitch reminded me of astrakhan and early twentieth century costumes, and I'm thinking about the Cocoon cardigan being more fitted and perhaps slightly more structured, so it's a little like a jacket.

I'm going to do a long thin swatch with 3:1 and 2:2 ribbing and stockinette, as J. suggests in her video. I also found three sets of three balls each which I bought for scarves, but I think they would work well together in a cardigan. And finally, I have some lovely teal merino silk for a pretty silky something for parties and when I am taken out to dinner (or even for the winter/spring transition - I've never had a top precisely for that moment)!

I think it will take about eighteen hours in total to complete this top (excluding sewing on buttons, they may never get done) which is extraordinary. It means that it would be possible to make a top in a fortnight rather than six months! I've also thought of a solution to @neumannsalva's one sleeve dilemma ... start knitting both sleeves at the same time and swap between them :)

Here are the final video's from J's Knit and Pearl Jam - excellent tuition, lovely presentation, so relaxed and chatty ("it's just yarn, people, it's not a race, it's just youtube, enjoy yourself"). In another video, I learned that J. was 71 last summer. She looks fabulous. If you get time have a look at her birthday video.


J. explains the changes she made to the sample top-down cardigan to improve the fit and gets you started on the neck ribbing and the yoke to the under-arms.


J talks about how to check the fit on your cardigan and then how to join the back and front to knit the body.


The last video looks at finishing the ribbing on the body and then how to complete the sleeves. More excellent tips. These videos are a delight to listen to, never mind learning anything about knitting.

FINAL DAY - Evergreen December Challenge

image.png
Image credit: @riverflows
The last day of the year to enter @phoenixwren's fabulous challenge!

sos daily news.jpg
(Source) Keep up with what's happening on Steem by following @Pennsif's daily news. Now with an open discussion discord server - https://discord.gg/qHWWU3k - please do join in with ideas and responses.

Sort:  

Oh my @shanibeer. I didn't realise you were a knitter. That looks great fun.

I'm looking for a project myself to take on in 2019. One like that is not something I could do in a matter of hours though.

I'll have to have a good look around youtube when I get home.

Happy New Year to you and yours. It would be lovely to meet in person again somewhere along the way. 😍

My first one took a month and then I had to unravel it :)
I'm having a theme of #handmadewardrobe for 2019, hoping to complete two or three cardigans and make room in my stash for ... more stash!
Happy New Year to you and yours, too. I agree it would be lovely to meet up again in 2019.

I would so love to do the opposite and get rid of a lot of my stash. I'm mainly talking art stuff but I have a load of wool in the garage too. Maybe I'll look it out when I get home and seem what I might be able to make from it . . .

I love knitting as a project because you can carry it around with you, unlike the mixed media. 😊

Yes, knitting is very polite and discreet 😎

I second your thought to alternate the sleeves. I did that on my last sweater and it worked well. My daughter then tried on the sweater with the sleeve stitches on holders so I could see exactly how many more inches to the perfect length.

Yes, it's such a good idea, isn't it? And so obvious when someone says it! I like the idea of trying the top again before finally deciding on the sleeve length.

The top down cardigan is looking great @shanibeer! I like the look of the seed stitches, it gives a very neat texture, doesn't it? Thank you for sharing the videos. J sure is fun to listen to. Very motherly voice too :)

J.'s great, isn't she? I'm going to put on one of her videos anytime I'm feeling a bit out of sorts :)
It's been great getting to know you through the year, I've loved your detailed posts.
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

Thank you for the link to the videos, @shanibeer. I look forward to seeing how it progresses :D

I hope you enjoy the videos - I found them a bit addictive :)
It's been a fabulous year - I've enjoyed your posts and hints and tips so much.
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

Great work on your cardigan! And thanks for the mention of my contest! <3
#handmadewardrobe is a great tag. I might have to start using that. ...he says, wearing a tunic he made and is still proud of. ;)

#handmadewardrobe is going to be my theme for next year ... have you posted about your tunic in #needleworkmonday? I think you should :)
Thank you for a fabulous year, it's been great - Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

I'm pretty sure I did, ages ago. :) Happy new year to you as well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looking good! You are making great progress and I can't wait to see it grow! Love the color as well.

Am I too ambitious to want it finished by next #needleworkmonday? ;)~
I've really enjoyed your photographs and stories of where you live over the past year.
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

So very ambitious! Happy New Year!

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Happy New Year @arcange, all the best for 2019!

It’s really coming along well @shanibeer! I love the color you chose and I am glad you are figuring out tricks along the way.

You know our saying in the needle world,

our mistakes give our projects character

I am also glad you like the fitting of it so far. Keep up the great work :)

Yes, it makes each one unique and hand-made :)
I will be so happy when I've mastered the principles ... it's been a wonderful year for me in #needleworkmonday, I've learned so much and developed my ideas much further than I imagined. Here's to the future! Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

I am so glad to hear that :D

May 2019 bring on more learning and motivation!

Happy New Year!!

6 hours!!!?! I am envious... I think I must watch a speed knitting video. And this in moss stitch (which I love, but I always have hurting fingers after some rows, so it is no option for me)
I love how the cardigan looks. And it is so convenient to knit the neckline and the button band with the body of the sweater - less finishing. But the two sleeves at one time brings a problem for me: I use addi click needles and do not have them double :-DDD (oh, wait... perhaps this is a excuse to buy knitting needles?)
I am looking forward to watching your videos.
A happy and creative new year for you

If you work two things in the round at the same time with exchangable needles just put the one tip you need on each needle and on the other end of each needle put a tip the next size down. That works perfectly for knitting stockinette in the flat for those of us who tend to purl a bit looser than they knit ;)

That's a clever fix!
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

This is a clever idea :-D Thank you for the tip!

Do you think 6 hours is an optimistic estimate? I was trying to calculate backwards. I am at the longest part now ... each of the last rows in the yoke takes about 40 minutes. But I am nearly there now :)
Shame about your fingers, I guess moss stitch needs a lot of manipulation ... is it a problem with every kind of needle? I am using birch wood circulars at the moment - they are quite light.
I'm pleased with the cardigan, too, I was so pleased to learn about the top-down method from you. I have two half finished bottom up in pieces cardigans which I shall have to unravel. One is another red ... more ruby coloured ... I like the garter stitch band, I feel I have neglected garter stitch (I have been too snobbish about it), I think it would be nice to have as an all over stitch (so quick, too)!
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

I think I knit slowly :-D So I am not a reliable timing source.... But I am happy you also like the top-down method. It is so convenient. You can try on the sweater and it is nearly finished, when the knitting is done. And the possibilities to change details are endless.
With the moss stitch it is as you described, it is the movement of the fingers indifferent of the needles. The finger problem is one reason I changed from crochet to knitting and from "normal" western knitting to combination knitting. I think I simply must limit the time knitting and stick to "softer" patterns :-)
I also like the appearance of garter stitch but find the fabric a bit too dense and stretchy. Nevertheless, I have two cardigans completely in garter stitch and love them.

I timed myself knitting the very longest rows on the yoke - the last increases: each one took between 20-25 minutes, so six hours is probably an under-estimate 😍. But still, it is growing more quickly than many things I have I knitted.
I tried on the yoke last night. Some parts fitted perfectly but I may have too much stuff under the arms. It was a little hard to tell, perhaps it will look different when the sleeves are knitted. I am going to buy some circulars with a longer cable, that will speed up the time preparing the yoke for fitting 😎
I was also struggling with the joining the front and back under the arms. It looks a little messy and I'm wondering how to avoid a hole between the body and the sleeves. At least it is partially hidden!

One problem I often have with top-down constructions is, that I often miscalculate the width of the sleeves... perhaps this maybe your "too much stuff under the arms". Mostly my sleeves and with this the sleeve opening are too wide. But I have no idea why this so often happens.
With the joining under the armpit... this problem does not occur in my sweaters, but I have often read about it. A hole at this point seems to be a common problem.
https://thebrownstitch.com/2010/06/11/the-great-underarm-divide-part-ii/
But I am not sure if this is the problem you mean.
How did you close the underarm? I normally cast on 4 up to 10 stitches and later pick up even more stitches for the sleeves. Meaning, if I casted on 4 stitches for the underarm join, I pick up about 8 stitches in this area for the sleeves. (Perhaps this is also written in the above link, I am not sure, I only remembered the text, but I did not read it again :-DD)
Sorry, I am writing a bit confuse...
The longer cable is perfect for trying on. I mostly use addi click and these needles have a connector to elongate the cables. I also put the sleeve stitches on cables instead of scrap yarn, so that I later only must click on the needles (I am soooo lazy :-DD)

Mmm, it just looks like there is too much fabric bunched up under the arms. I found this picture on ravelry which seems quite generous to me under the arms, so maybe it is okay:
IMG_2455.JPG
I didn't add any stitches between the front and back, it seemed to fit quite well anyway. Maybe I could use less stitches to start and add some underarm ones if needed next time. Let's see :)
I'm pleased with it so far, it looks lovely :)
I like the pattern in the picture, it seems to have solved the problem of the square neck line.

Yes, the blue cardigan is lovely (the variegated wool is beautiful) And with the neckline... The more advanced raglan patterns start with a very small stitch count for the fronts and increase the fronts in a certain ratio to the four raglan increases. Often at the half way of the yoke there are in addition to the front increases stitches casted on for the fronts to create a more rounded neckline (obviously not for the blue cardigan)
I am so curious how your cardigan will look in the end <3 <3
(and please be lenient, if I wrote things you already knew)

great start !!! I am interested to see the result.

Me too! It's exciting, I don't know how it will turn out!
Happy New Year, all the best for 2019!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47