You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A week in knitting | Shortbread Inspirations

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I like both paintings - but they are different. For the first one, I was just concerned with getting the paint on to the paper, I didn't feel I had any control and I wasn't really concentrating on the colour and what was happening with it. It's a bit like when I recently learned to crochet - my big problem was keeping the yarn on the needle! With the second one, it was more meditative and I started to have more control and I was more aware of colour and the balance of colour.
There is also a very interesting discussion here by @lloyddavis about the process of drawing and how children draw for the experience, rather than the outcome. It has some interesting links.
Thank you for the information about translucent/opaque colour and the re-steem.

Sort:  

Ohhh I will check this, thank you for mentioning the discussion. With dancing it is so easy for me to simply enjoy the process or if necessary to switch to a more controlled/assessing state of mind. While painting this switch does not come easy to me... here I am often more concentrated on the result (although I enjoy the process) I think perhaps dancing is a more ephemeral and with painting you are constantly confronted with the result.
I have a friend who "teaches" painting with the method from Arno Stern who valued the process strongly (over the result). As you said a interesting discussion :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43