You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A week in knitting | Shortbread Inspirations

What a wonderful post! resteemed! (and I am vain... you mentioned me :-D)
I love your ideas of texture, colour and fabric and think that your painting experiment beautifully combines the items you liked in the top photos: You painted rich, pastose and intense colour-fields wile simultaneously leaving room to breathe (meaning white unworked paper) With the paint you are not only creating a (flat) image, but also a texture like the peeling wall you mentioned.
Personally, I like the first painting more, but this is me and my love for pink hues.
And with the wool - wow, this was luck. The yarn has the absolute right colour combination. I am curious to see your design <3

With the paint... I am a bit unsure... the Pelikan colours seem to be tempera paint, which is unusual, because tempera is a tad complicated to use (but I am not too educated in this... I only remember my father who painted icons with egg and linseed oil tempera, but traditional icons are perhaps no comparison)
With acrylics you have pigments and fillers and adhesive agents, which influence the opacity. Mostly you will have symbols on your paint which tell you the grade of opacity (but perhaps you already know this, then sooorrryy)
28389-Code.jpg
I will now hurry to you pattern making website and try it out :-DD

Sort:  

I like both paintings - but they are different. For the first one, I was just concerned with getting the paint on to the paper, I didn't feel I had any control and I wasn't really concentrating on the colour and what was happening with it. It's a bit like when I recently learned to crochet - my big problem was keeping the yarn on the needle! With the second one, it was more meditative and I started to have more control and I was more aware of colour and the balance of colour.
There is also a very interesting discussion here by @lloyddavis about the process of drawing and how children draw for the experience, rather than the outcome. It has some interesting links.
Thank you for the information about translucent/opaque colour and the re-steem.

Ohhh I will check this, thank you for mentioning the discussion. With dancing it is so easy for me to simply enjoy the process or if necessary to switch to a more controlled/assessing state of mind. While painting this switch does not come easy to me... here I am often more concentrated on the result (although I enjoy the process) I think perhaps dancing is a more ephemeral and with painting you are constantly confronted with the result.
I have a friend who "teaches" painting with the method from Arno Stern who valued the process strongly (over the result). As you said a interesting discussion :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43