You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flu(ffy) knitting

Sorry you are so poorly, and a new knitting project (especially one that is not too demanding) is the perfect therapy :) I like the way the wool is knitting up, it looks very soft and cosy? So this yarn made from waste fibres, is that correct? I must have a look and see whether such things are available in the UK. I think patterns are made for an imaginary person, and we all have different ideas about how loose or close fitting we like to wear our garments. The best thing (and what I'm trying to learn) is how to adapt patterns for our own beautiful shapes and sizes. And now, very quietly, I'm intrigued by the competition ... :)
Do you want to take part in the @treeplanter voting circle I'm running this week for #needleworkmonday? You can find out more about it in this post. Have a lovely week!

Sort:  

yep... the knitting helped :-D And also it is much cheaper yarn, it is really soft. I am not sure about the drape, but this must wait for later stages of the project. The yarn is from a wool shop which sells normal brands like Lana grossa or Lang yarns etc. But they also sell no-name yarn which is as they say "yarns of the high-quality fashion industry. Particularly inexpensive, since it is about yarns that are industrially no longer economically to process because of too small amounts." Sadly, they seem to only sell in Germany, but I am not sure...
And with the sizes. You are right, there is no change to make a pattern that fits all. But sometimes I would be happy if the photos were more precise. For example, the sweater I made from this German magazine reaches barely the waist of the model. But when I looked up the sizes, the smallest size had a body of 63 cm... I am not convinced, that the models in this magazine are around 1,90 m 😅😅 And the magazine is not very size inclusive, mostly two sizes and sometimes only one.... So yes, the ability to adapt a pattern is very useful (I am trying to learn this for sewing, but I find it tough)
Oh, and with the competition! This is so good to hear. I have written @needleworkmonday a bit more about the idea, as I thought it is better, if the community account starts the competitions/challenges :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64