#needleworkmonday | #tenkminnows and #maybeaminnow | grow your account

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

My knitting is taking a backseat at the moment because there is so much work to do in the garden. I'm still working on my stripey jumper and since I last posted I've completed the button bands and I'm working on the collar. The button bands took two attempts, although I'm pleased with the second version, and I'm on my second attempt at the collar.

I'd really like a fold down collar similar to the type of collar you would find on a denim jacket. I've searched the internet and youtube but so far I've not found a simple formula for shaping the collar.

I'm looking for something like this:


Source I like everything about this bolero jacket, and the collar design is what I'm looking for my stripey jersey (although my jersey has softer drape). Do any of you have a pattern or formula for increasing to get this collar design? (incidentally, I love the little dutch clog brooch!

So far, the pattern shaping I am trying is this:
Pick up required stitches around the neckline.
Place a stitchmarker at each of the shoulder seams.
Knit rows 1-6 in pattern without increases (I'm knitting in garter stitch).
Row 7 (right side): k2, M1, * knit to two stitches before shoulder stitch marker, M1, k2, move stitch marker to right needle, k2, M1 *, repeat ** once, knit until two stitches before the end of the row, M1, k2.
Even rows: knit
Rows 9 and 11: repeat row 7.
Rows 13 and 15: k2, k2t, * knit to two stitches before shoulder stitch marker, M1, k2, move stitch marker to right needle, k2, M1 *, repeat ** once, knit until four stitches before the end of the row, k2t, k2.
Row 16: cast off all stitches.

Meanwhile, you may have come across @steevc's initiative to increase the number of minnows (accounts with 500SP) on Steem. The idea was to increase the number of minnows from 9,200 to 10,000 by the end of the year. With the help of @paulag and others, @steevc got in touch with accounts that were just under 500SP to help them over the threshold and about 100 more accounts have become minnows since March.

Now, @steevc is introducing #maybeaminnow and extending the field to bring in other growing accounts. He has some great suggestions for how larger accounts can support smaller ones. He says:

This is really aimed at those who have a few thousand SP, but everyone is very welcome to participate. I can only give up to around 20c in a vote if I am very careful with my voting power, so there is not much I can do alone.

I have about 5,000SP voting power, my 100% vote is about 13c (if I'm careful with my votes)! If you have a couple of thousand SP in your account, perhaps you will join this initiative and support some smaller accounts to help them grow.

Find a community to support. I plan to support the OpenMic and RunningProject groups as music and running are two of my passions. I think you need to look to what you enjoy so it is more fun. This should not feel like work.

One of my passions is the fabulous #needleworkmonday community which brings huge pleasure, enjoyment, fun and learning every week, so that's where I'll be putting my efforts. You might join me, or you might have another community that you enjoy interacting with.

Here's some further ideas from@steevc:

Follow some specific people who are close to being a minnow. Give them votes and comments to encourage them. Re-steem a few posts to get them more support.

Delegate to small accounts. This increases what they can make from curation and allows them to give more support to others. I am okay with them self-voting their posts. Over half my SP is currently delegated to various people and projects.

Buy them some @SteemBasicIncome shares that will get them extra votes for life. You benefit from that too. I must have bought about 100 shares so far and others have bought them for me.

Reduce your own self-voting and support of bigger accounts to free up more voting power for the smaller accounts. Circumstances vary, but many of us can afford to earn a little less for a few months to help build the Steem community.

We have some much smaller but very active accounts that post in #needleworkmonday. I would like to support two of those to see how much we can grow their accounts. For each of those accounts, I will:

Provide a delegation of 100SP. This will help accounts earn more from curation and give more support to others.
Provide a daily upvote.
Support with comments and some resteems to get more exposure.
Sponsor some SBI shares so the accounts will earn votes for life.

I've had (and continue to have) great support from other steemians which has helped me to grow. I'm in the happy position that most of my posts earn a reasonable amount and I'm self-voting less and less - especially now that @revisesociology's recommendation helped me onto the @ocdb whitelist and I'm able to boost my earnings through that. I'll be giving some smaller votes in future to accounts that I already regularly support, so more of my voting power can go to the two accounts I will be supporting as part of #maybeaminnow.

(Incidentally, I always give bigger votes to people who leave good comments on my blog to encourage more interaction).

So, what am I looking for?

accounts with less than 500SP who regularly post in #needleworkmonday (not necessarily every week), following the posting guidelines:

  • at least one picture
  • at least 100 words (ideally telling us something about your process)
  • positive comments on at least two other posts in #needleworkmonday.

accounts that want to grow by:

  • posting two or three times a week.
  • powering up their steem, rather than leaving it sitting in their account.
  • not powering down.
  • use their voting power (that is, it's not sitting at 100% VP). If you're not on steem every day, you can use an autovoter to manage your voting and make sure you're using your voting power to benefit other accounts.

I'm really looking for posts that provide more than a picture and four or five words - 100 words is fine - and written in English (or with a translation), so that I can follow what they are posting.

I haven't set a time limit on the delegation or the support - let's see how things go.

I discussed this with @crosheille who provided a list of active smaller accounts, and I could select two from there, but I would be interested in hearing in the comments from #needleworkmonday posters who would like to be considered or any recommendations from the #needleworkmonday community.

PS Don't forget I need help with that collar!

#needleworkmonday with @crosheille, @muscara and @marblely

Sort:  

I love that collar too. I hope someone can point you in the right direction on how to achieve this for your jumper!

I love this initiative and I think it’s wonderful you are jumping in to help out others as well. I’m particularly excited you are helping members of #needleworkmonday. This will be very encouraging to them and help them continue to be active and supportive of others. I think it’s great you are asking the community for recommendations as well ;)

Thanks for all you do Shani! 💗

I was surprised there was so little on youtube, usually you can find most things!
It will be great to see the community keep growing!

It is nice to upvote newbs.

Damn I have to work today, I just want to sun myself and mess around on steem!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm tempted to sit in the garden and read :) but there's potatoes waiting to be planted, and little seeds requiring attention. The problem is having to go gack to work tomorrow ...

Oh this is the perfect day to be in the garden for sure! Even planting is awesome.

Oh dear work (:

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehehe! Addicted to Steem!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post! This will help a few folks grow their accounts. I have appreciated your support and advice since I joined this site.
I will look around at patterns when I get a chance in case I have something with that collar!
Have a great day!

Thank you - I hope we can keep growing the needleworkmonday community.
Let me know if you come across any suitable patterns :)

I will look through my books for a collar like that on the bolero.

Posted using Partiko Android

polokragen.jpg
This is from page 60 of Stricken by Katharina Buss

That's fantastic, thank you!

Also available in English as Knitting by Katharina Buss. I own both.

Thank you, that's really appreciated :)

You are awesome @shanibeer! The #tenkminnows project truly propelled me towards my last dash toward minnowhood and I am thankful for the project, the community, to @paulag and to you, for your on-going support. It is a great initiative from you in helping Steemians in this #needleworkmonday. I think @cryptocariad can be a good candidate?
I love that collar but sorry, I am not sure which pattern would work for you since I have not made any sweater yet. If I find any good ones, I will let you know :)

It's great that you reached minnowhood, a fabulous achievement!
Thanks for the recommendation, too :)

I like that bolero jacket too..and the yellow color looks very cool.. so nice of you for helping minnows.. its really a great help for red fishes like me.. great initiative.. 😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a beautiful jacket, isn't it?

Looks a lovely and neat collar, but I've no idea how to achieve it... I saw here in the comments someone has already found a book with instructions for you. That was quick!
All the best with that collar, I always find those finishing touches the most challenging...

Yes, I've found a used copy of the book online, too, so that's marvellous 😊
I haven't started on the sewing in of ends yet!

Oh, the joys of sewing in of the ends... all the best with those! :-)

Thank you for sharing it‘s not only a great jacket but also great styling:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's lovely, isn't it? It's a great blog to browse.

very cute collar. I like it, but unfortunately I did not knit such a model. Steemit is now in a difficult situation and a similar initiative you wrote about is very valuable

My gardening is on mind as well. I am so far behind and I have a lot of irons in the fire. I am hoping that my son comes to my rescue in the next few days because I can't tackle all of my plans by myself.

Having someone young and strong around is a big help 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93