You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I made pajama pants and wore them outside - pattern from Asuka Hamada

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago

Hehe, I laughed a lot about the skirt-making, I am better at making pants than skirts, since I never wear skirts. It's actually good to make loose easy pants like that because over time, your pattern can evolve into something that actually fits your particular body but your first attempt was not bad.

To start with: your fly was not fake - there should probably be a fastening, this means that there is less fabric at the waistband. It's always better to cut out a patterns as is, put it together and then do adjustments to things like back and front waistband heights because cutting off the top shortens the crotch and makes it tight and small. It also then makes the pants legs too short overall because then the crotch sits too high

For your bum, you should probably look at making the back panels wider at the side and then adding darts to shape it better.

Next time, cut the pattern out as is, put it together then put it on inside out. From there, you can see where you want to add darts, shorten waistbands, etc.

Sort:  

I am exactly the other way around, I mostly wear wide skirts, as it is so hard to get fitting trousers. But I am willing to learn. And I can only say yes to all your recommendations. I still am not sure why I do so strange things like modifying a pattern although I have no clue how the garment will be made or how it will fit. I blame the headaches…
I hope I will find another cheap cotton fabric soon, so that I can try out the pajama pants again and I hope I can incorporate your advices, especially for my backside :-D (I think I read I should scoop out the curve of the middle seam more for a better fit with a big bottom, besides making the back wider …is this right?)
But the fly… really very strange. The trousers do not have an additional fastening. They are meant to be worn with an elastic, there are no buttons or zippers mentioned. Or I am overlooking it, that’s always possible :-DDDD
Thank you so much for your support 💕💕🌈

Yes, the fly thing is odd but it is also possible to have an elasticated waistband and a fly. Looking at the picture you made of the instructions, I can see that the waistband was cut all in one piece so it is probably intended as a front-opening garment.

Hint: the back of a pair of pants always has the bigger crotch shape and is generally bigger ;)

Yes, the curve should be scooped out more for a larger bottom but the best suggestion I can give is to buy cheap unbleached calico, wash it and cut out a new pair of pants . Put it on inside out and make adjustments, using pins. Then, tack it together and recheck your fit. If you are happy take it all apart and then you have your very own template for a pair of pants that you'll be happy with in every way. Now you are ready to go and spend on fabric.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87