The Marian Jacket - a crochet pattern for needleworkmonday

This was my first ever published crochet pattern. I wrote this in autumn and never posted it on my blog (neither steemit nor wordpress) I hope this pattern will give you an example of how to crochet a seamed jacket.

Anleitung stricken undhäkeln titelbild vorlage(1).png

While the fog rises outside and I sit with a cup of tea in front of the window, I realize I need a new crochet project very fast. So quickly I ruffled the computer and searched Ravelry for matching patterns. Several hours later I am back where I started - not because there are no nice and fitting patterns - no, there are just too many and I cannot make up my mind.

To avoid deciding, I decided (irony) to develop a simple pattern and try to find out whether I can write it down so that it could be reworked.

Here it comes, the attempt, the project, the test run, the work of art, the masterpiece! 😜

A jacket made of rough wool in autumnal dark red and shades of brown mixed with the bright blue of a sunny English sky in October and the dark petrol of a stream from which a deer drinks. In the background sounds Clannad's Robin Hood Main Theme and I drift off ....

Design ohne Titel(49).png

Construction
The jacket is made in five pieces: Two front parts and the back; both sleeves are worked straight into the arm openings. So, there is a bit sewing to do, but only a very little bit. Shoulder and side seams are sewn together and the sleeves which are worked in rows, must also be closed by a seam.
At least a cuff is worked around the edge of the jacket. The neckline and the front parts are bordered with single crochet.
Since the wool has a colour gradient, I have chosen a very simple pattern consisting of a row of single crochet followed by a row of double crochet. The cuffs are formed by rows of alternating front- and backpost double crochet. As a finish two rows of single crochet are worked around the edges.

Design ohne Titel(47).png

Tension
8 Pattern rows (alternating rows of single and double crochet) and 11 stitches 10 x 10 cm with 6 mm hook.

Pattern Notes
Turning chains count as stitches throughout. The Pattern is written in US Terms
Skills used
ch = Chain
sc = Single crochet (UK double crochet)
dc = Double crochet (UK treble crochet)
ss = Slip stitch
fbdc = Front post double crochet (UK front post treble crochet)
bpdc = Back post double crochet (UK back post treble crochet)
dc2tog = decreasing, two double crochet worked together (UK decreasing, two treble crochet worked together)
Sewing front parts and back together, sewing buttons

Materials
7 skeins Rico Design Fashion Tasai colourway 016. A slightly fuzzy yarn consisting of 53% Wool and 47% Acrylic. The yarn is single ply. 50g; 134m (147 yds)
Hook 6 mm
Wool needle
Stitch marker
Scissor
I found the wool in my closet, unfortunately it is discontinued. It has a fluffy-scratchy quality and felts very fast. The colour gradient per skein is very different and produces varying stripes worked in double and single crochet. The appeal in crochet is very rustic and autumnal. You could try to use KATIA/Azteca Fine, Lion Brand/Amazing or LANA GROSSA/Cinque Multi instead, but I didn’t test it.

Design ohne Titel(48).png

Fit
The jacket has a lot of positive ease, so Marian does not freeze in the forest. It fits loose enough to wear a sweater beneath it. The jacket has dropped shoulders and wide cut sleeves. They taper slightly to the cuff.
The jacket has a small stand-up collar and slightly overlapping sides so that you can snuggle into it. If you want, you can sew buttons and use the openings between the double crochet as buttonholes. But you can also leave the jacket open.
The jacket is cropped and ends above the hip, so it showcases a waisted skirt particularly well. If you prefer your jacket longer, just add the desired number of further rows after row 1 of the cuff section before working the front and back post double crochet.

Design ohne Titel(46).png
Sorry for the German in the photos, but here it comes... the translation :-D

Size and numbers

Back
Cuff width 55 cm
Shoulder neckline width 49cm

Armhole height 17 cm
Neckline to cuff height 43 cm
Neckline without cuff height 38 cm


Front
Cuff width 30 cm
Shoulder neckline width 28 cm
Shoulder seam 17,5 cm
Armhole height 17 cm
Neckline to cuff height 43 cm
Neckline without cuff height 38 cm


Sleeves
Sleeve cuff width 17 cm
Sleeve length 44 cm


One thing after another….
The back
Row 1: start with chainless single crochet foundation row, work 62 single crochet.
Row 2: ch 3 (counts as first dc), dc in each stitch across. 62 dc
Row 3: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 62 sc
Row 4: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 62 dc
Repeat row three and four seven times. The back consists of 18 rows up to the armholes.

Back (armholes to neckline)
Row 19: ss in the first three dc, sc in each stitch across, miss the last three dc and turn. 56 sc
Row 20: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 56 dc
Row 21: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 56 sc
Repeat row 20 und 21 five times. The upper back consist of 13 rows.
Fasten off.

Front piece
Work the front piece two times.
Row 1: start with chainless single crochet foundation row, work 33 single crochet.
Row 2: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 33 dc
Row 3: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 33 sc
Repeat row two and three six times. The front piece consists of 18 rows up to the armholes.

Front piece (armholes to neckline)
Row 19: ch 1, sc in each stitch across, miss the last three dc and turn. 30 sc
Row 20: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 30 dc
Row 21: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 30 sc
Repeat row 20 and 21 five times. The upper part of the front piece consists of 12 rows.
Fasten off.


Finish the body
Close the shoulder seams. I closed 17,5 cm on each side. Depending on your taste, you can close the seams further which results in a smaller neckline and the jacket sits higher or you can keep the seams more open for a wider neckline. Sew the two front parts under the sleeve openings on the back part.

Cuff
Attach the yarn on the lower edge of the jacket and work on the other side of the foundation chain.

Row 1: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 62 dc
(If you want to have a longer jacket, you can insert more rows of alternately sc and dc until the desired length is reached)
Row 2: ch 3, fpdc in next stitch, bpdc in next stitch, rep from * to last stitch, dc in last stitch. 62 stitches, (2 dc, 60 fpdc/bpdc)
Row 3: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 62 sc
Row 4: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 62 sc
Do not fasten off.

Edging
Row 1: ch 1 and work evenly 53 sc on the first side. Ch 2 on the upper edge. Sc in every sc across the neckline. With two 17,5 cm width shoulder seams this will result in 40 sc. Ch 2 and work evenly 53 sc along the other side of the front part.
Row 2: repeat row one. Fasten off.

Stand-up collar
The stand-up collar is optional.
Row 1: Attach the yarn on one end of the neckline. Ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 40 sc
Row 2: Ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 40 sc
Row 3: Repeat row 2.
Fasten off.

Sleeves
Work sleeves two times.
Attach yarn at the centre of the underarm.
Row 1: ch 3, work 45 dc evenly around the sleeve opening. 46 dc
Row 2: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 46 sc
Row 3-16: Repeat row one and two seven times.
Row 17: ch 3, dc2tog, dc in each stitch across to the last three stitches, dc2tog, dc in last stitch. 2 stitches decreased. 44 dc
Row 18-21: Repeat row one and two times.
Row 22: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 44 sc
Row 23: ch 3, dc2tog, dc in each stitch across to the last three stitches, dc2tog, dc in last stitch. 2 stitches decreased, 42 dc
Row 24-27: Repeat row one and two times.
Row 28: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 42 sc
Row 29: ch 3, dc2tog, dc in each stitch across to the last three stitches, dc2tog, dc in last stitch. 2 stitches decreased, 40 dc
Row 30: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 40 sc
Row 31: ch 3, dc in each stitch across. 40 dc

Sleeve cuff
Row 32: ch 3, fpdc in next stitch, bpdc in next stitch, rep from * to last stitch, dc in last stitch. 40 stitches, (2 dc, 38 fpdc/bpdc)
Row 33: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 40 sc
Row 34: ch 1, sc in each stitch across. 40 sc
Fasten off.

Finishing instructions
Sew sleeves and weave in all ends.
If desired, sew buttons.

Dress up, run into the forrest and see if Robin likes the jacket.
Design ohne Titel(50).png

needleworkmonday.png

Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

HI @neumannsalva, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord.

Thank you so much for mentioning me and naturally for hosting the fibre ramble. Although I am always short before a heart attack, when I must speak English aloud, you make it so much easier for me to try because of your cordial and welcoming manner <3 <3 <3

I love that style jacket, I think it is the cropped length, so very nice. The changing colours in the wool is good, too.

Thank you @shanibeer. I am a big fan of cropped (but not too short) sweaters. But it is not easy to buy them, because I have a very short torso and if it fits in the length, it is often to narrow....

wow, you are super talented! It is very pretty and it suits you really well too :)

Thank you.... Happy you like it. With the talent I am not so sure ;-D THere are so many people out there who started earlier to knit/crochet...sigh... I have so much too learn, but I really love to try out new things and to take (funny) photos.

That is an awesome pattern @neumannsalva !

I enjoyed reading the introduction and feel completely identified by this :

So you end up making your own 😊

I love the colour and the instructions are very clear... I must post a photo of a knitted cardigan I made a couple of years ago and I may just fit into it ! The shape is similar to yours.

Thank you @cryptocariad <3
and ohhhhh yeeees... ravelry is bad! I can get lost in it. So many beautiful designs and photos 😍😍 I want to make everything
And I would so love to see your cardigan (because right now I knit more than I crochet) Did you wrote down the pattern?

No... I didn't write the pattern ... you will laugh when I show it because it's a good example of my 'tricks' in trying to make it wider @neumannsalva

Now I am super curious: tricks to make it wider!!??? I want them. As always I am knitting something that will not fit... this time it is to small (sigh)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for sharing!!!!

Thank you @neumannsalva!! Thank you for a very detailed pattern. I'm going to try this! Love the color and the design of this jacket with its mandarin collar action. And it is not the body hugging type which I like too! Love the photos at the end 😍

Thank youuuuu... (and I love the photo at the bottom also <3 <3 we made it after sitting at the field and enjoying the sun)
I normally also dislike too clingy designs, I feel more comfortable in wider jackets and sweaters. (Right now, I am knitting a very narrow cardigan and I am not too happy about it)
If you ever have questions about the pattern, feel free to ask :-D

Simone ich finde deine Arbeit sehr schön und hoffe es kommen mehr tolle Kreationen von dir 😘

Dank dir, es freut mich natürlich immer Lob zu bekommen. Ich hab auch schon deine Seite angeschaut: super niedliche kleine Häkeltierchen die du machst... dafür bin ich ja leider etwas zu ungeduldig, obwohl ich amigurumi super süß finde.
Falls du bei ravelry bist: da sind ein paar mehr von meinen Entwürfen (aber du findest sie auch bei steemit, ist nur mehr Sucherei)
Hope to hear/see more of your creations :-D

The colour of the cardigan I really really like.
This is really detailed. Although I didn't get anything most of your translation but I can tell you did great a explanation. Look at that! You have added tutor to your many talents🙂
Plus Robin likes it! It's a win-win!!

Thank you <3 I also was instantly in love withe the wool. It has so nice colours, like fall leaves :-D
And you are right, if one is not used to the short forms of crochet terms, it sounds like a secret language :-DDD
And Robin is definitly the best of all <3 <3

wow !!!! you wrote it very carefully! I like the color of the gradient: a very beautiful flow of one color to another

Thank you so much. And I hope I did not make mistakes in the pattern.... it is always a little bit of work to write it down and check it :-D And I also love the wool, it has so nice colors

I love the color of your choice, and the trimming at the waist and arms! They are beautiful!

Thank you so much. I tried to write a very easy pattern with not to complicated stitch patterns.... and I thought one can always omit the a little bit more complicatet trimming of hem and sleeves, but Iwanted to give the option, because I really like these front and back post stitches :-D
I hope you are feeling better!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53