Mosaic and Helix Knitting ~ ~ ~ Quick Guide: Voting [Eng/Ger]

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Finally completed: the Mosaic Hat

I finished the cotton hat with the mosaic patterns. Quite proud of it - especially of the "seam" where you change from one row to the next. It's in the middle of the picture and I love that you can barely see it in most patterns.

Fertig ist die Baumwoll-Mütze in Mosaikmustern (Hebemaschen). Ich bin schon begeistert vom Ergebnis, vor allem finde ich die "Naht" (mittig) sehr gelungen wo ich versucht habe den Übergang von einer Reihe (und Farbe) zur anderen möglichst unauffällig zu machen.


Helix knitting - the 'waste not' socks

I have a lot of left over sock yarn, sometimes only some meters of one yarn. I had been thinking about making small pieces to later make a throw out of it... but working now to maybe have something in two or three years? Not very exciting. So I decided to make (yes, you probably guessed it) some socks. There are a lot of ideas and patterns for "scrappy" socks but I had heard about something interesting. One thing on my bucket list was "multi colored one row jogless knitting in the round" - making a spiral of two (or more) yarns without having a start or end or a color. Several times in the past I watched videos and read about it but it was all very complicated. This weekend I watched them again, was still confused but simply started to knit. And - lo and behold! - if you know how it works it's fairly simple (at least if you use DPNs or two circular needles).

Ich hab viele Sockengarnreste, oft nur wenige Meter. Jetzt hab ich begonnen daraus Socken zu stricken und zwar in einem Spiralmuster. Zwei Farben, ohne Absatz, kontinuierlich in der Runde. Es gibt Videos + schriftliche Anleitungen dazu aus denen ich nie ganz schlau geworden bin und hab dann getüftelt bis ich mir eine ganz simple Methode selber erarbeitet habe für das Stricken in der Runde mit dem Nadelspiel oder zwei Rundstricknadeln.

Again a toe-up sock, so I cast on with Judy's Magic Cast On - but you can start at the cuff, too. I closed to the round and knit with the main color half a row over one needle. Now I pushed the needle back again to the start of the row, took the second color and knit this first half row again with this color. Then I took the next needle and again knit with the first color and the same stitches again with the second color.

Wieder von den Zehen begonnen und mit dieser Farbe die Maschen einer Nadel gestrickt. Dann wird die Nadel zurück geschoben und eben diese Maschen mit der anderen Farbe gestrickt. Nun auf zur nächsten Nadel, diese Maschen mit Farbe A stricken, Nadel zurück schieben, Maschen noch ein mal mit Farbe B stricken.

kw.jpgkw2.jpg

I have to admit the colors aren't the best to show the spiral but I have no yarn in solid colors ;) In the right picture you can see the two threads on the backside needle. I will now knit the stitches on the front needle first with the white/black yarn and than with the dark-blue yarn and so on. First yarn A, then yarn B, next needle. The same with DPNs: one needle after the other knit two times.

Zugegeben, die Farben lassen das etwas schlecht erkennen - aber ich hab nu mal keine einfarbigen Garne ;) Auf dem rechten Bild sieht man die beiden Fäden warten. Ich stricke nun die Maschen der vorderen Nadel erst mit dem schwarz-weissen Faden, dann direkt im Anschluss mit dem dunkelblauen Garn.


Voting - How and When (and when not)

The worth of a vote is dependend on several things. First the SP (own and delegated), the percentage of it you use and the percentage left of your Voting Power. Here are some thoughts and tips:

  • SP: The more, the better. Well, of course. But take a look at your wallet: If you don't plan to cash out soon or you need STEEM for other things on the chain - power up. More SP means more RCs, too, which means you're able to make more comments etc.
  • Voting Power: The more, the better. A 100% vote if your VP is at 80% is only an 80% vote. 10 votes of 100% a day - not more. If you stagger these, even better - best not to get below 85%. If that means you have to stop voting for a day or two - well, the people you vote will be happy if your votes have more worth afterwards. I prefer not receiving a vote from you now if that means that votes in the future will have their whole worth.
  • No voting on comments. Ever heard of the dust threshold? If a comment doesn't earn at least 0.02 SBD the rewards won't be paid to the author of the comment. So: If your vote is worth less than 0.02 SBD (~ $0,025) don't vote on a comment if your vote doesn't bring the reward over this threshold. Either write a comment instead (remember: Votes go to the wallet, comments go to the heart!) or vote on a post of the commentator. Just click on the name which lead you to their profile page and vote for a post. Not that much more work, only one click more - but your vote won't be lost!
  • No voting during the last 24 hours before pay out. The worth of votes made late in the 7 days period decreases to the end. Again: perhaps write a comment and vote something else by the author.

The critic

You know this feeling when you look at your needlework and there is this voice your hear? It talks to you, about his the stitches could be more even, about the increases you forgot and the pattern you mangled. But this critic is rarely seen, he manages to hide himself, is elusive. Here is a rare image of the critic - he tried to camouflage himself but you can clearly see him. And look how shocked he is that he was caught!

Screenshot_20190114165514.png


What's on my needles

Quite a lot :)

Waste not-sockEstuary-shawlCotton hat
See aboveJust started, more perhaps next weekThe same hat again - only I forgot where I put the knitting elastic so it's restingafter the first five rows till I find it again

And of the course the double-knitting scarf ;)



10% of this post's rewards automatically go to @needleworkmonday, our community account.
10% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @Needleworkmonday, unseren Community Account.

DACH-Community Discord


Sort:  

The hat is amazing and looks super complicated with its intricate pattern. And you are right the 'seam' is hardly visible. I forgot if you made it for yourself or as a present?

And the socks: also,, beautiful. I do not need a spiral, I already love their speckled appearance. But I must admit, I did not understand how to work them without later sewing in millions of yarn ends (or do you have to sew...?) This technique sound’s very intereesting, I must google.

And the critic... are you sure you did not create a kind of cthwoolhu?

Now that you mention it - he really does look a bit... hmmm...

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, yes I get caught out with the upvotes every Monday, @muscara... I do try hard, but end up just giving 50% depending on the level of activity to avoid running out of 'voting juice'. I guess every little counts these days. Oh, the other thing is when to vote... after 30 mins ? I totally forget.

The hat in natural colours looks great... the socks are just a bit advanced for me but perhaps one day I'll be able to achieve that :D

I often vote later, too.

BTW - I forgot to add the googlyeyes and edited the post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, good luck with the contest, @muscara !

chuckles oh well, that's quite a confused critic :D

concerning "dust" I'll suggest checking out @dustsweeper and @dustbunny ... especially the latter ... it has #GooglyEyes, too ;)

Nice work with a very complicated pattern. I hope to add socks to my list of things that I can knit sometime in the future. Thanks for the information on "dust". I am still trying to incorporate all of the tips and tricks on this platform. I'm not sure that I understand it fully, but I will investigate more.

Hee hee hee :))))) you made me laugh with your critic :))))) he has really surprised frightened eyes :))))) Your gray jacquard hat is gorgeous !!!!! I wish you success in your current projects !!!!

I'm glad you enjoyed the critic. I took a lot of photos at my weekly knitting/crochet group and this one I liked best :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha you made me laugh with that critic! I love it! 😂 I have one of my own but haven’t caught him yet. You’ll have to tell me how you did it so I can capture mine too lol!

The hat looks really neat, I love the pattern! I also love all of the colors on the socks as well! Would you ever suggest making socks with regular yarn or is it best to use sock yarn only?

Thank you for explaining about the votes! That is very helpful ;) I try to keep funds available in my dustsweeper account so that I can continue to upvote comments from time to time.

Congratulations @muscara! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Hypatia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54