You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mending Mishaps! aka Shortcuts Don't Always Work. Happy #NeedleworkMonday ;)

Actually I sewed the placemats with the right sides together, leaving a couple inches open on side, then turned them right side out and handstitched the opening closed. Then I stitched 1/4" from the edge to keep the seam allowance in place. I've thought of just folding in the edges, but I'm a little dubious about how the corners will turn out if I do that. I might try that tactic on the next set as an experiment.

You bring up a good point about the missing canvas causing the jacket to look funny in that spot...hmmm...I might try stitching some old uniform fabric or something into that spot to "fill it in" and then put something over the top of that. Hopefully next Monday I'll have an update :)))

Sort:  

That sounds like a great way to make the placemats! I seriously am going to do that! I just wonder how many I can get done before my parents come in June if I'm only sewing a few hours on the weekend...and have a hundred other projects. Ha!

Ha is right!! I add in a fleece layer in the middle, I forgot to mention that. For the first time ever I actually timed how long it took me to make this set of 4 and it took around 6.5 hours total, not counting cutting out the patchwork squares...but it did count the probably half hour I spent dealing with a jamming bobbin, so maybe 6 hours is a better estimate. And seeing how quickly your quilt came together, you may be faster at sewing than I am, LOL :)

Ok nice! Does give it a little more stability to have something in the middle! I see how you made little stars to quilt it. 6 hours for 4 is pretty good. I'll have to figure out what I'm going to do with mine and get it going!! :)

It helps pad and smooth out the feel of the inner seams from the patchwork, plus I figure it's even more protection for the tabletop from warm plates and cold glasses. I like the anti-pill fleece from Joann because it's thin like low-loft batting. Normally I do much more quilting, but figured I'd see how these look after being washed :)

Nice - that is a good thought about having a little more protection for the table!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43