Needlework Monday: The Grand Finale (finished retirement gift)

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago


Happy #NeedleworkMonday, everyone!

Well, this is it - the retirement gift has been completed. 

For those who haven’t read the whole journey to this past Friday’s presentation, and you are interested, here are the links back to the previous posts:

Help Me Decide!

Color Pop Baskets

Inner Basket Almost Done

Uh-oh Moment

Inner Basket Done

Large Inner Basket Almost Done

One Week Four Days

Large Basket Done


I honestly did not believe I would get it finished with my work schedule being so full, but I got up a little earlier each morning and set my mind to getting it done. Even when I put the smaller basket together, I noticed that the outer basket was a bit larger than the inner basket. I had to do a good number of crocheting stitches together in order for it to work.

I absolutely love the color patterns on these baskets! They definitely are popping, which is the whole point of these Color Pop baskets.

And you all were right in telling me to avoid the crochet stiffener. It was not needed at all.

I did want to share the assembly process for her gift. From the top left down to the bottom right:

1) Smaller basket complete

2) Larger basket complete

3) Baskets inside each other for setting up the gift

4) Shredded decorative paper in each basket bottom

5) Pumpkin Spice K-cups  in the larger basket

6) Shower Fizzies from Buff City Soap in smaller basket (didn’t get a chance to make bath salts or the chocolate candle, but that is okay)

7) Moisturizing face masks, notepad for refrigerator (or another place that is magnetized), and my note about the baskets being handmade with love

8) Found a cellophane bag to wrap it all in

9) Wrapped, tied, and decorated. DONE!!

She absolutely loved it...but I now see if had found more of the Pumpkin Spice K-cups and filled BOTH baskets up, I would probably become a permanent member of her family...LOL....

Thanks everyone for helping out on this crochet journey! I appreciate you so much!

Sort:  

Yeah! Baskets finished and welcome! I'm so happy that your colleague liked the gift :)

Thanks so very much @muscara! 😊

Well done, @mrscwin ! You completed it all in time! The baskets look great :D

It was like I skidded into the finish line @cryptocariad! Got it done the night before and packed it in the morning. 😁

Yay Congratulations on finishing on time and for delivering Jessica a beautiful gift! The baskets turned out lovely and I’m so glad to hear she loved her gift! 💗

Thanks a bunch @needleworkmonday! She really did love her gift, although I think she would have loved it more completely filled with pumpkin spice coffee! 🤣
So thankful for this community!

You’re very welcome!! 😊

Congratulations !!!! You finished in time and you made such a beautiful gift. The baskets worked out perfectly and the colours are great together and I can imagine her displaying her handmade jewelry in it ( I hope I remember right). I can imagine ho much work it was to make the baskets with there tight stitches.
And all the other little gifts and the wrapping - wow <3
But I have to admit I have no idea what 'Pumpkin Spice K-cups' is? I guess after reading the text message it may be coffee with spices? Help :-DD

Thanks SO much @neumannsalva! Yes, she will have her handmade jewelry on display in them, unless she uses one for home decoration.
Yes - the Keurig company made a coffeemaker that makes single cups of coffee at a time, and the little cups that you put in the machine that make the single cup of coffee are called “K-cups”. These that I gave to her are flavored with pumpkin spice, so she can wake up for at least 18 mornings and make just one cup of her favorite flavor of coffee. 😊

Yay! It is such a pretty gift @mrscwin! I would have loved to receive it :) Thank you for sharing with us your journey. It is so fun! I love the colours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99