Needlework Monday: Inner Basket #1 Almost Finished

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Happy #NeedleworkMonday, everyone!

So I did not make a whole bunch of progress on the smaller basket, but the inner basket is almost done! I have maybe 5-6 rounds left before this is finished. I do like the color, which will really make this pop. Once I am done, I will start work on the outer basket, and put together the smaller basket before I work on the larger basket. 

My mom said that she is next in line for a large basket, when I finish with these for my coworker.

Now I am not just about the gift, but also about the presentation of the gift. I have been known to not just toss it into a paper gift bag, although I do that sometimes with the shiny and colorful tissue paper. I have been known to use the colored cellophane to wrap gifts. I have also done the “box in a box in a box in a box” like my dad used to do at Christmas when we were young. I am now using the reusable shopping bags for giving gifts, and my family and friends really love that a lot. I am still working out how to present it, and I welcome any suggestions. 

I’ll keep you up to date on this.

Sort:  

I love your baskets!! I can just see them with a few little gifts in them and then done up with pretty cellophane and ribbon.

Thanks @fiberartists! I’ll be thinking about the gifts to add. 😊

The colour is so vibrant. I can't wait to see the finished piece.

Thanks so much @thriftymum - I will definitely share!

I love your baskets. The very beautiful color. I await the final result. I would add chocolates and cookies to complete the gift

Thanks @jicrochet! Chocolate is ALWAYS a great gift! 😁

It’s looking good so far and I too love that vibrant color!

These are going so well! I'm not great at presentation, but I look forward to seeing yours :) (I need some ideas)!

Thanks @shanibeer! I’ll definitely show what I end up doing to present it.

What about you putting something in the basket (something simple like sweets or so) and just give the basket? So the giftee first thinks "oh, my favourite cookies" and then realizes that the basket is the gift :)

Thanks @muscara! Definitely thinking something simple (like chocolates maybe).

I really like that colour @mrscwin... I would say flowers inside the basket as part of the presentation, but that may give the impression is a plant pot cover... so it could be some relaxing bath salts or something ? and wrapped with cellophane so you can see what it is :D

Thanks @cryptocariad - oooh, bath salts are nice. I am definitely thinking cellophane for sure.

Does it go well with the yarn you have? I remember you were unsure about the yarn…The photo looks good though!
And with the presentation... I normally wrap everything in old newspaper, so I do not have to buy wrapping paper which is not recyclable here... And to make it nevertheless beautiful I try to make little "sculptures" like fans, bows and ribbons and so on out of the newspaper. I also would fill the basket with some red sweets or something else which matches in color...And perhaps attach some of the red thingies onto the newspaper wrapping (but that’s me... I do this till I was a child, because there was always so much waste after birthdays or Christmas)

Those are some good ideas @neumannsalva! Yes, it is going well - the yarn is actually staying somewhat sturdy. Maybe it is because I am trying to make tighter stitches than normal? 🤔

A knitted pink coloured basket. Wow I haven't seen that before, it is so pretty. is it going to have a handle for easy carriage? As for the wrapping up I usually just fold neatly and put them in a cellophane and then in a pretty decorative bag. Although the folding may not apply in this case.

Thanks so much @wondermaey! No, this will not have a handle . It will be one just big enough for decorations or my coworker’s jewelry pieces. That is a great idea too!

Love the color! It is exciting to think about little trinkets/presents to put them in there!

It is very exciting @icybc! Thanks so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49