#needleworkmonday :: The making of a breakfast knot bag

in #needleworkmonday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Helllooo friends!

Happy #NeedleworkMonday, wherever you are! ๐Ÿ˜Š๐ŸŒ

Last week, I shared with you about my breakfast knot bag in the process. It is now completed! (Yay! It feels good to use up yarn to make stuffs that we can use - most importantly, to make room for new yarns ๐Ÿ˜)

main.png

I kind of crocheted this without a specific pattern. Let me roughly share with you what I did:


kb2-1.png

(1) With the dark grey yarn, I started with an oval base, starting with 15 chains and then built the base of the bag with HDCs all across the chains following the pattern I googled for an oval base such as this. After about 3 to 4 rows in height, I changed to the red+silver yarn and crocheted across depending on my mood.

Some rows I did just 1HDC all across the chains, while some rows I did 1SC all across the chains. I also decided to play a bit at some rows and I did 3HDCs in a single chain and skipped 2 chains and continued all across the remaining chains.
(If you would like to try this, you can crochet any design and any way you like. This is a design-free bag ๐Ÿ˜Š. The fundamental methodology is the same for any design, shape, colour and pattern.)


kb2-2.png

(2) Then, for the fun of it, I also tried crocheting with the 2 different yarns to create some 'spots' pattern at the bottom of the bag, using the red + silver yarn as the main colour.


kb2-3.png

(3) Once I reached the height that I want, I went back to the dark grey yarn and did about 2 rows of SCs across the chains, joined by slip stitch. Once I am at row 3, I roughly measured the center of the bag and slip stitched 6 chains to create a "hole" to enable the handle to go through - which creates the "knot" effect for the bag.

At the opposite side of the "hole", I crocheted the handle to fit my wrist and sewed the end of the crocheted handle to the beginning of the handle to create the "wristlet". After that, I weaved in all the ends with a darning needle.


kb2-4.png

(4) For the lining, I used some scrap linen-ish greenish-blue fabrics that I had from a pants that I altered earlier. I drew the shape of the bag's base and cut out the base as well as the body of the lining using a darker shade.

I also added a little pocket using a lighter shade of the scrap linen-ish fabric.


kb2-5.png

(5) With the sewing machine, I sewed the pieces together, beginning with the pocket and the body of the lining first.


kb2-6.png

(6) Once the body was done, I pinned the body to the oval shaped base, starting with the 4 main sides to ensure the shape is correct against the body. Then I added more pins across to make sure the fabric doesn't move out of place when you sew them down.

I also sewed the divide for the pocket of the lighter shade fabric (I forgot to sew it earlier).


kb2-7.png

(7) After the lining is completed, I pinned the lining to the bag (also starting with the main 4 sides before adding more pins).

I decided to hand sew , also for the fun of it but you can machine sew them with a similar coloured threads so that they don't show on either side.


kb2-8.png

(8) Once done, I tested it by putting my little breakfast biscuit packets and a yoghurt drink into the little pocket. Then, I slipped the wristlet through the hole to close it. It works! Yay! ๐Ÿ™ƒ


Thank you again to both @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting this wonderful #NeedleworkMonday.

Thank you for reading my post! I appreciate it much!

happyneedleworkmonday.png

Sort: ย 

Great little bag :)

And thanks for the link to the crochet pattern for the oval bottom - until now I only had a more simple pattern with only 3 increase points. But this is much more smooth and nice.

Thank you @muscara :) You are most welcome. Yah, at first I was trying out my own increases but it didn't look like a nice, flat oval. It became quite a pointed oval. Then, it crossed my mind that for sure someone would have published some nice patterns online and true enough, there were quite a number out there :)

It's so cool! I love the knot design for the closure with the handle especially. Have you done that before or did you just make it up now? I want to try it! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Thank you @phonixwren :) It is! I love that knot design too. I saw it online in this form: http://www.patternpile.com/sewing-patterns/japanese-knot-bag-sewing-tutorial-pattern/ and thought it is cool not needing any clasp or buttons or flap. But I decided to have the knot flat in front instead of rounded at the sides. It was my first time trying this and it works :) I hope you try it too. You can do any pattern of a bag that you like and work the handles / wristlet that can slip through a hole to enclose itself.

So cuteee! The bag looks like a mini baggie in the first photo xD It's a watermelon, right? :D
Congrats on the Curie ^-^

Thank you @kristyglas! ๐Ÿ˜Š Oo watermelon!! Yes! I was thinking and thinking it does resemble something but can't quite pinpoint it.
I have been wondering what is Curie. Now, I think I know :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hey @kristyglas, I just noticed a 10SP delegation from you. Thank you so much!! I was wondering how did my SP increased by 10. It was you!! Thank youuuuu ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜

My pleasure :) I undelegated from @ivan-g as he doesn't need now ^^ so I just felt like redelegating.

howdy from Texas marblely! hey I'm just a rough redneck who doesn't knit or crochet but even I know that this is a practical, clever and well made pouch, if I was a crocheter I'd be all over this! lol

Howdy @janton!! Thank you so much!! :) Thank you for your comment and your visit to my post. It was fun to work on :) I read about your cushioned chair that ecoinstant fundraised for you. That was so sweet, cute and funny hehe. This platform is amazing. We meet amazing people and make new friends :) Hope the chair is treating you well :D. And nice to "meet" you @janton :) You have a wonderful coming weekend there!

Hi marblely,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hi @curie,

Thank you so, so, so, so much! This is such a happy news to wake up to. It is truly a great honour and I am very humbled by your curation and review ๐Ÿ˜Š.

congrats for completing it!

Thank you @amigurumi!

This is a really fun design! I quite enjoy when people say 'no-pattern', my wife always says 'no-recipe' cooking. Well yes, but of course if anybody else tries to do what you did then it is following your 'pattern' c;

In my head I imagined that HDC was high definition cross, and SC a stitch cross. I love knitting, and my mom actually taught me, and I made the requisite first project, a scarf, but I guess I didn't pick up on all the lingo.

This is a great project, we use mochila

and this seems very similar, something we would use! Thanks for sharing your creative genius with us on Steem!

Thank you so much @ecoinstant! Thank you for dropping by.
Hehe.. you are right, a no pattern is still a pattern isn't it? You are wise ๐Ÿฆ‰.
So sorry, I should have typed the Half Double Crochet and Single Crochet instead of the abbreviations. I will remember next time :)
Oh wow.. thank you for sharing the picture of beautiful mochila. You have given me a new pattern to research on. Wishing you a good coming week there @ecoinstant! Thank you for your support :)

Cute cute cute!!! Did I say cute? ๐Ÿ˜„. I love how your breakfast bag turned out! I love the color combo, the wrist handle and how you added the lining. Thanks for sharing the steps with us and also for the link!!!

Congratulations on the curie upvote!! What a Happy #NeedleWorkMonday!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Thank you @crosheille! ๐Ÿ˜Š It is a happy news!! Yay! Happy, happy #NeedleWorkMonday!

๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ˜„

Wow~ It's wonderful. You're very kind of detailed guideline. Thanks~

Thank you so much @limelight! Thank you for reading my post. Appreciate it much!

Congratulation for your @curie vote <3 And you earned it: because you made a lining :-DD I am amazed. I have never done this (and would perhaps destroy the bag in the process) it is such a practical idea to add a pocket on the inside. I still love your colour choice and think the little grey dots are perfect.
Happy #Needleworkmonday to you

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Thank you @neumannsalva :) Yes, I think it is because of the lining too! Hehe. Thank you for your support and encouragement. Sometimes, I can't help but wonder if I made the right choices. But I guess I wouldn't know until I try and try I did :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79