#needleworkmonday :: A breakfast knot bag in the process

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Hello hello fellow Steemians!

Happy #NeedleworkMonday!!!

I am currently working on a breakfast (Japanese) knot bag but it is nowhere near to finishing yet.

And that is because, I couldn't decide on the yarn! Have you had a situation whereby you spend more time thinking and wondering what yarn to use (colour, thickness, type of yarn) than actually spending time to do it? I always have this problem of overthinking things, whether it is crocheting or knitting or sewing or drawing or anything for that matter. Choices, choices, choices.

I was told that one reason could be because I am ambidextrous which makes it difficult for me to decide. I haven't really researched on this yet but I suppose there must be some truth to it, right?

I do know I wanted a few things with this bag:

  1. Its main purpose would be to hold my breakfast bars, yogurt drink, packed biscuits - on the go on rushy and busy mornings.
  2. The base should be oval (I like oval somehow).
  3. The base should be a dark colour - so that it doesn't get dirty easily.
  4. It has to be crocheted because I am much more comfortable crocheting.
  5. And I would like to try to make a knot bag.

But I wasn't sure about:

  1. which yarn to use.
  2. what colour of yarn to use.
  3. what stitch to use.

I looked around for a pattern but most patterns were round base and uses single crochets.

So, here is what it is so far:
knotbag.png

Think the red and silver is making it look a little festive 😅.

I am still unsure about the shape and colour but am hoping to finish it by next week's NeedleworkMonday. Wish me luck!

colorful-separator.png
Thank you @crosheille and @crystalize for this wonderful community where we could share and care together!
colorful-separator.png

Iappreciate-smaller.png

Sort:  

I also spend too much time over-thinking things @marblely. When you finish your bag you could also consider lining it :D

Thank you @cryptocariad :) Yes, I am planning to add a lining. But first, I need to finish the bag :D

I think you little bag is going to turn out wonderful, @marbley! Just follow your gut/instinct on which colors to use. Our inner voice never fails us. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you @crystalize! I've missed you! Welcome back!! You are absolutely right, just follow our inner voice. Happy @NeedleworkMonday to you too! 😘

The base should be a dark colour - so that it doesn't get dirty easily.

It get the same dirty, just don't show it so easily...
I wish you luck and I will see your finish work next monday

You are right haha! It will still get dirty, just that the dirt will be less visible. Thank you @tahiaarq!

Oh yes! I’m sure we have all been there before, I know I have! Sometimes I don’t get to a project for days because I’m so stumped on which color and/or texture to go with.

Looking good so far, can’t wait to see more! Thanks for sharing~ 😘

@ marblely. Can't wait to see the result. you are so talented.

Haha thank you @oliviackl.. shy 😊

I like the colours, it will look great!

This will be great <3. The color combination works very well (And you know you could always try out different variation later)
And thinking things through is a good skill... I am more the oh-I start-something-spontaneously person, and as you perhaps by reading my posts learned, this is not the best approach :-DDD Because sometimes I run out of yarn, or the yarn is not ok for the project and so on

Thank you @neumannsalva for your encouragement :) Oo I do that sometimes too - start-something-spontaneously and hit into the run-out-of-yarn situation quite a bit :)

At least we create valid reasons to buy more yarn :-DDDD

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by marblely from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 11.38% upvote from @bpclan courtesy of @marblely!

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @marblely

We have planted already 3324.60 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19505.94
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73