#needleworkmonday :: Chubby owl stuffed toy

in #needleworkmonday4 years ago



1.jpg

I think sewing is such a versatile skill. Once we learn the basics, we can pretty much sew anything!

This week, it was all about toys because @sayee gave us a challenge to handmake a toy: https://steempeak.com/creativity/@sayee/hand-made-toy-contest
and what better way than to combine this with #needleworkmonday as featured in our Featured Posts #70!

I found this pattern of a cute chubby owl:
http://pinkyhiggs.blogspot.com/2012/04/free-owl-pattern.html
and I was immediately smitten. My sister loves owls and so do I and this fella looks really cute. I have not sewed a stuffed toy before and this was a pretty nice experiment :)

Pinky's blog included a printable pattern for this chubby owl but I enlarged the diagram on my screen and traced them from there.

I cut out all the required pieces for the body, tummy, wings, eyes, base and beak, following Step 1 of Pinky's blog:

2.jpg

After choosing the fabric for each part of the owl (I used scrap fabric), I traced the pattern onto the wrong side of the fabric choices.

3.jpg

I decided to have a flower pattern for the body and corduroy for the tummy. The wings, a mix of both. For the eyes and beak, I used felt and the base, I used a dark blue corduroy.

4.jpg

Following Step 2 of Pinky's blog, I sewed the tummy to the body:

5.jpg

6.jpg

Then, the top part of the body seams were sewn together:

7.jpg

This was how the tummy and body looked like after sewing:

8.jpg

Next, referring to Step 4 of Pinky's blog, it was time to stuff the owl and I used old socks, this time socks that were already loose and the rubber has gone :D

10.jpg

I rolled the socks into a ball first, tried to shape it like the owl's chubby body:

11.jpg

And stuffed it into the sewn body and tummy, avoiding stuffing the peak of the head which will be folded:

12.jpg

This was the part in Step 4 which says "Finishing drawing up the gather stitch and tie securely leaving an opening no greater than 1 & 1/2 inch wide."

14.jpg

Then, I sewed the base to the bottom and folded the top to form the head:

17.jpg

Once that was all done, it was time for the wings. I sewed the two fabrics together, leaving a little gap to turn the fabric inside out as per Step 11:

9.jpg

After turning them inside out, I pushed the edges out and sewed the hole shut:

15.jpg

Then, it was time to sew the wings, eyes and beak! I modified the eyes a little:

16.jpg


~ ~ ~ 🧵🧶💗🧶🧵 ~ ~ ~


Done!
This guy is just too cute!

21.jpg

20.jpg

And because it is stuffed with old socks, this guy is pretty much washable but probably takes a while to dry :D

I think this makes a pretty nice Christmas gift too for kids and adults alike! And we change it up a little, to either make a bigger one or a smaller one as an ornament for the Christmas tree! Yippee!
💡 Idea for NeedleWorkMonday’s 'Project Warm A Soul' Community Challenge is Back! 💡

🤔🦉🦉🦉🤔


Thank you again to @crosheille for starting this wonderful community and to the awesomely supportive #NeedleWorkMonday community!
Take a look at the FAQ to learn more!
Helping to host are @muscara, @shanibeer and me.
If you love any craft that uses needles, come and join the fun with us here every Monday! You can also join us every other day at #NeedleWork.


tqforreadingstayamazing2.png

happyneedleworkmonday.png

image.png


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.


Sort:  

Oh my gosh this is just too cute! I love that you used socks to stuff it, that made it easily washable for sure! I love the different fabrics you used, that corduroy gave it such a nice looking texture! Well done ~ 💛💚

Thank you!! It is!! I smile each time I look at it now :D I think your daughter might like to try this. If I remember correctly, she made the teddy bear earlier right? Yes yes, corduroy is niceee 😍

Well, we have reblogged to thousand followers.. Many thanks to vote us as your witness.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It sure is great looking and cute and thanks for including the steps too as it will help others give it a try for sure.

Thank you again @sayee for the contest and prize :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is really good and I also shared to @minnowsupport folks and glad they also liked it

This is a wonderful owl !!! Very beautiful fabrics and neat work! Super, @marblely!

Thank you @elenka!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is very positive and interesting !!! I like it!

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

How cute!

Thank you for being a ccc member. We gave you an upvote @team-ccc.

Thank you for your upvote!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Love it! So cute! Thank you for sharing all the photos of the process!

Thank you @jamethiel! It was fun to do :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like your handmade toy. Using scraps of fabric that you already own and recyling old socks is a perfect way to make something new. Your patience and skill shows in the final product. Adorable!

Thank you so much @jluvs2fly for your kind words!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Super cute owl you made and I cross my fingers that you will win! The corduroy is such a lovely fabric choice especially with this vibrant lilac. FOr me sewing toys is as unattainable as crocheting amigurumi - I am not patient enough for all the small details. I made one toy a long time ago... I took a pillow, cut the top half ad formed it into two ears and glued eyes on it.... 😂😂😂😂 Your owl is so much more evolved 😍

Hehe thank you! I got 2nd prize! Yippeee!
I love corduroys and this was a thin corduroy.
I think you can do it too! Look at all the beautiful dresses and skirts and coat you made!!
Haha the pillow toy sounds cute! Do you still have it? 🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations 🥳 And I am so with you with the curduroy... only that I see clothes in this fabric 😂😂 ( I am really obsessed with clothes...sigh) And yes, the pillow-animal lives in our bathroom. I will take a photo later and try to insert it into this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00