Crocheted Adult Booties

I started off crocheting a pair of slippers because I like to wear socks or footies on my feet when I am at home. I prefer the soft socks as opposed to house shoes. After I finished the slippers, I decided to continue and make them booties.

8E414264-8D1E-4ACD-ACDE-E4E3104E7882.jpeg

I added a different color that was speckled in the original wool that I used. I added six more rows of double crochet to the slippers so that I could also turn them over into a cuff.

EC02CDC0-68CA-4B12-A70B-936529A30C7E.jpeg

I would have been satisfied with the original design which was a simple pair of slippers, but I decided to go a little further since I had so much yarn.

103E8D2A-FB22-4C27-8901-07129656C8E8.jpeg

I also have a few pieces of leather, suede and pigskin that I have been holding on to to make a purse. I used to do some leather crafting as another one of my hobbies, but my son lost my tools. I discovered that to replace them will cost me around $50 and I don’t want to spend that yet until I am sure that I will actually use the tools.

I have a lot of interests that involve sewing, crocheting, knitting, jewelry making and pottery. With so much to keep me busy, I could make quite a few hand made items with materials and equipment that I already own.

My next projects will involve making another pair of booties for my mother and a couple of smaller things for my grandsons who live in a colder climate.

I probably would not have been crocheting and finishing projects if it were not for this platform and the #needleworkmonday. If there was a group of jewelry makers and potters, then I would be more focused on those crafts as well.

I look forward to seeing what the other Steemians are working on today.

Let me know what you think in the comments below. Creativity is awesome.

88C47D9A-4356-4547-8A57-D0C85B8165AA.jpeg

Sort:  

Very cute finish! I love that you added the blue in so you can cuff them down...very cute!

I’m glad this space helps keep everyone motivated and crafting! 😊

Thanks for sharing with us this week~

You’re welcome. It was my pleasure. 😊

You really made the boots!! I love them. I always have cold feet and these higher boot/socks are so helpful. I am directly contemplating to make a pair myself. Also I love the color combo, with the lighter blue at the top.
And I am curious awaiting your crafting stories (I recently discovered clay work... much to learn for me)

These look so so comfy and warm! And with the cold season approaching, I'd say they'll be a perfect companion every day :D

I agree with you @needleworkmonday is a great group for keeping everyone motivated to keep creating! :D

They look really cosy - should keep your feet warm :)

They look very comfortable, @jluvs2fly. When I first read your post I thought you mentioned the leather for making soles for the slippers :D
Do you use anything on the sole to avoid slipping?

No, not for my booties. I am not afraid of slipping because I wear socks around the house all the time. I am investigating adding a leather sole for my mother’s booties because she is very elderly. It won’t be too difficult, but it will take longer since I will have to punch holes in the leather prior to crocheting.

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50