Baby Quilt to Toddler Blanket

I have been putting off completing a baby quilt for 3 years. I know, I know, bad grandmother. I wanted to make my grandson a quilt before he was born. I started on it with the best of intentions, got behind schedule and then abandoned the idea.

image

At first, my design was fairly straightforward. I would make the quilt in the design of a closed duvet cover, and then embroider significant images and phrases that meant something to both the mom and dad. I even consulted the parents on color choices before I picked out the fabric. Believe it or not, the father wanted blacks and grays. I thought that those colors were unusual for a baby but I complied.

I had everything that I needed and started sewing the quilt on the machine first. When I started to put in the polyester fiber fill inside the covering, it occurred to me that I could upcycle one of my older quilts that needed saving. I love quilts and I have bought and been given several really nice and old quilts.

image

Older quilts used to be made with 100% cotton instead of polyester. They were hand sewn from start to finish and took a long time to construct due to the careful cutting and laying out of all of the small pieces. I damaged one of my quilts by washing it in the washing machine one too many times. It was fragile and could not take the agitator motion.

image

I decided that that quilt would make a better middle section for my grandson's quilt than the polyester fiber fill. I inserted the old quilt between the inside and outside covering and started to baste it together. That's as far as I got.

image

The next thing that I know, the baby was born so I bought him a quilt and put my handmade quilt away. Every now and then, I pull it out to work on it a little bit more. My grandson is now three years old, so this quilt will end up being a junior blanket.

I do intend to finish it eventually, but at this stage in the game, the quilt has to look really good. I hope that it will eventually become a family heirloom. I am no longer making promises of delivery dates. Hopefully it won't turn out to be a college quilt. I'll keep chugging away at it until it is finished but I also have other ongoing needlework projects that need my attention, like that second sock. 😃 Have a great day.

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

I'm glad to know that I am not the only one who has done that with a baby quilt! It would have been my first quilt, which was probably a bad idea to attempt my first foray into quilting as a deadline project...

Posted using Partiko Android

oh nooo the second sock, better work on the quilt :-DDDD
Sorry for the joke <3 Your quilt looks so stylish in this unusual color scheme and I think your idea to reuse the older one is very sustainable. I cannot imagine how much work goes into such a big project... I think it will be appreciated indifferent how long you work on it.

A college blanket is not a bad thing... :)
Keep working on it when you can... it is all you can do!

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jluvs2fly from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87