You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is no real needlework post - ranting about health, grief and crafting

💗
Good of you to post. There are weeks, months. and years when simply continuing is about all any one can do. Actually having a life outside of pain is hard enough. But when you know it will hurt later and do it anyway... THAT is living.

The pink tweed is lovely! And there are decent migraine meds available which don't lobotomize users. You might have some luck with some of the newer meds that have come out. I find that taking 2 Ibuprofen and going somewhere dark as soon as I start seeing shadows and stars will sometimes short circuit the incoming days of pain. Your mileage may vary.
Hug

Sort:  

I have read about these new antibody meds for migraine, but I don’t qualify for them. Possibly in some years, when they are cheaper, this could be a try. And with other prophylactic meds I don‘t have good experiences. I am like you, I mostly take naproxen or Ibuprofen + bed. This does not stop the migraine, but makes it bearable and sometimes prevents, that I have them for days. My problem is the decision when to wait and when to take the ibuprofen (because of the 10/month rule) and often I wait too long and they don’t help at all (and my doctor wants me to switch between ibuprofen and aspirin, but the latter does not help so much)
And thank you so much for your supportive and sympathetic comment. I guess, I am a bit tired/angry of being in this ‚hold‘ position. Of not being able to work and for having multiple fronts (one of them being my whiny self) to fight. On the other hand I do not want to contribute to this ‚all is beautiful‘ culture of Instagram or facebook. I know that I also choose photos of me, on which I look (in my eyes) ok, or write funny things and that I brag with my accomplishments... but this should not be the only thing I present to friends and readers... argh ... ranting again 😂😂😂
So, I better stop with: Thank you 😍💕🌈

I have never heard of a 10 Ibuprofen per month rule, that bites! I try to only use it when needed but 2-3 per day was acceptable to my DR when I screwed up my neck a few years ago.
You are welcome! hug

If you use Ibuprofen or similar meds regularly (over months and years) you get overuse headache if you take it on more then 10 day per month. For triptane only 6 days per month. And it will loose its ability to alleviate the migraines.
The daily dosage is not relevant for this overuse problem (strangely...)
But this is only relevant for longtime use and mostly for migraine/ tension headache etc. I think the approach for rheumatic pain may be different.

Interesting, I had never heard that. Will have to look into it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66903.13
ETH 3103.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74