Project from an Old Girl Scout Manual

Apparently Fair Isle knitting was one of the domestic skills once valued by the Girl Scouts, as this pattern is from a handbook for the jr. high school age group. Knitting in the round with steeks and color patterns--wish more girls did that today instead of just staring at their phones and taking pictures of themselves.

The original pattern has a button band, but I did a zipper instead. Here's my project page for the sweater on Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/kschimmel/trefoil-sweater

Sort:  

I love the pattern on this and it looks really cosy. I tried fair isle for the first time last year - it was easier than I thought, I was worried about keeping an even tension but it was okay (mind you, it was only a scarf)!

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Kewl work.. Do folks still wear this awesome sweater? I hope so... very interesting to see!

I wear it in the winter.

Hi! We are taking our account for a walk. Visitng some mamas ❤️

All mamas always welcome!

Wonderful project, fiberfrau. I am fascinated by Fair Isle knitting but haven't picked up my needles for a long time. Keep making posts like this and I may have to dig them out! Thanks for sharing.

I love colorwork. I carry a color in each hand, since I can knit English and Continental style.

That's a brilliant technique!

I love the patterns on this sweater. I really wish more young people would get into these types of crafts. That’s one of the reasons our children are required to learn some type of skill or art. It is part of our homeschool curriculum.

I am so glad for your children--lifelong hobbies or even a business can come from learning crafts.

Very nice sweater @fiberfrau. I hope to learn this fair isle knitting in the near future. I agree, kids nowadays (and adults too) spend too much time staring at their phones, scrolling, browsing and taking selfies/wefies. We need to bring this type of activities back to schools. I remember having to learn basic sewing, knitting and crocheting in school as part of the curricular activities and it was great fun. Basic skills can bring us a loong way.

We do our part when we teach family and friends. Maybe the girls I teach this fall will go on to teach their mothers, too! I was blessed to grow up around lots of extended family--there was always someone who knew whatever you wanted to learn next. :)

Wow you made this? I find it amazing that so many mamas are so good with the needle! #steemitmamas

hola fiberfrau, how are you, I love your work, they are beautiful, and they look excellent quality. greetings from steemitmamas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47