Monochromatic Scarf Story

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)


In color theory, value is the term for the lightness or darkness of a color. Consider a black and white photo of a Dr. Who scarf. From that photo you could make a chart giving numbers from 1 to 7, lightest to darkest, then make a monochromatic scarf in any hue.

I based my scarf on Tara Wheeler's Blue Variant, based on the Season 13 scarf.

One challenge I found was really determining the lightness or darkness of a color. Is charcoal grey darker or lighter than navy? Too cheap to buy a value filter in the quilting department of a craft store, I tried the following scientific method of determining value:

Me: April, when I pull these two skeins from behind my back I want you to quickly tell me which one is darker. Don't think or look at color, just darkness, OK? Go! (shows daughter yarn)

April: (Pauses to think, despite being told not to, because that's the way everyone in our family is) This is really hard. They both look equally dark.

Me: (sigh) That's exactly what I thought.

I think I managed OK. This scarf is a great match with my navy winter coat (which only gets worn in January and February here in North Carolina.)

Sort:  

This is beautiful. Blue is one of my fave color. It looks light and cool for the sight. Lovely!

I love the colors 💙 how long did it take u to make that?

I didn't keep track--maybe 12 hours? Lots of stitches in a garter stitch scarf of that length/width.

I like those colors and how they flow! It looks beautiful! and super warm! Nice work

Well I think you did a great job. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Interesting idea to use general light and dark values instead of the original colors. The scarf turned out lovely!

esta muy hermoso tu trabajo, te felicito, la combinacion de colores es espectacular.

I like the hues of blue you chose. The light and dark tones you chose blend so well together.

We are always analyzing things... you might ask us to not do it... but for some of us like me... it is automatic! I have anal eyes! :) I like to color ... of course Blue is my fav! :)

Yes, I sometimes get the paralysis of analysis myself.

I here that... I have anal eyes! but, I found a cure!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72