You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needlework Monday: Reuseable Sanitary Napkins How-To

This is an awesome post and we hope to contact you someday so that you can mentor young girls about the financial and environmental benefits of making resusable sanitary napkins. Great post and this is one of the things we are making at our hub at a small scale. Next year, we want to go around schools and teach young girls how to make these. Menstrual hygiene is a a very big big problem among young girls in Cameroon and i must say if you listen to the menstrual stories of girls from rural communities, you will definitely want to do something. Thanks for putting us this great post @phoenixwren.

Sort:  

I would be happy to help if I can. Disposable ones are SO EXPENSIVE. I couldn't afford them all the time either.
I've heard about how bad it is in some places, where girls miss school because they don't have products. I've seen a couple groups that work to send cloth pads, and a lot of westerners say, "ew, send them disposables" but that wouldn't help as much since they would run out and in some places there isn't trash collection, either.
In one such discussion, someone said then they wouldn't have washing machines either, but they could be washed by hand and boiled water used to sanitize them or however they would clean a cloth diaper for babies. I use a machine because it's convenient and one is included in my apartment, but if I had to go to the laundromat, I'd probably do it by hand, too! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83