The 'Bucky' top ...

It is a bit grey around here today anyway…

That’s what’s left of my plain grey top after using the whole front for the upcycling of a black top. I explained quite a bit already in my post on Saturday. I decided to give a few more details here to encourage potential upcyclers to just give it a go.

My daughter @tinygalaxy wanted to attend a show wearing a ‘costume’ of a Marvel character called Bucky. As we didn’t have the right material for the costume we just went for an upcycling job consisting of cutting off the hem and sleeve of a black top. This had raglan sleeves so that made it a bit daunting initially.

The grey top was never perfect for me anyway because the collar was too tight so I’d been meaning to widen it at some point.

I couldn’t use the grey sleeves because they were only ¾ length so I didn’t have ‘enough’ sleeve to match the existing black sleeve. The only option was using either the front or the back of the grey top to make the other sleeve.

I chose the front because I will reconstruct the top altogether and I’ve seen many tops where the back is a different plain colour while the front is patterned.

I drew with chalk the right shape on the black top and then cut off the the black sleeve. This served as a pattern for the cut off grey front. Sewing was not that easy because it was ‘in the round’ using a serger / overlocker - I need practice.

I sewed the red star by hand using running stitch as we haven’t washed and don’t want the red colour to bleed on the grey. The star was drawn on a piece of paper by @tinygalaxy and I just placed it onto red felt and cut around it.

The photo below is the inside of the work. I’m happy with how neat it looks.

Best of all, @tinygalaxy was happy with it and wore it with pride.

Thanks for stopping by !



all photos and work by @cryptocariad



🌻 Thank you @crosheille and @crystalize for hosting #needleworkmonday 🌻

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Great work - and I hope your daughter had fun wearing the costume!

And I love that she choose Bucky. He's not your typical super hero. He had a hard past, tried to overcome that, made mistakes and still tried.

Thank you and, yes, she did have a great time, @muscara - she's now recovering from the walking around she did though :D

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because I wanted to revisit you!

During the last 56 days in the life of @worksinsane, your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. Now I decided to come back and I've also included you in my latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-10-1-revisited

Thank you, @worksinsane ! I truly appreciate your continued support :D and I will support you too in return ;D

This looks great - I think the solution with the red star was a good one, you can remove it for washing. I wondered about using the overlocket on the jersey fabric - did it work well? Now, I am wondering what will happen to the leftover pieces of the grey top ... :D

Thank you @shanibeer. The overlocker is perfect for this job : it neatens and leaves no bulk. Unfortunately I sort of lack the skill to sew in the round confidently :D. I'm really good at sewing in the round in a normal sewing machine though (that's a long story...).
My sister-in-law instructed me to cut a snip near the start of the sewing to ease the fabric into the machine but that made me a bit worried; it worked though; she's a genius and my brother is lucky to have her.

Yay to upcycling!! The star looks striking on the light grey sleeves. Just flash it to kill the enemy!! Hehe. Your sewing is neat @cryptocariad :)

Thank you, @marblely :D I'm learning about all these characters I never knew existed :D

Hehe me too! I had to go to your link to find out who is Bucky. And I just found out about Thanos from my nephews.

Hey @cryptocariad, I just noticed you put my name for @wondermaey's post. Oops.

Thank you, @marblely... I'm tired/half awake/suffering from bad back ache at the moment (too much gardening) ... I appreciate your help

O dear.. try to sleep or lie down to rest the back. I wish you well @cryptocariad. Hope you will wake up refreshed and backache gone!

It's a recurring problem due to age, @marblely - I just have to take it easy... no worries...

You know I love upcycling!

For the school or for festivities for the boys. I do make dresses for myself but I like buying stuff ( in New shops , Second hand or vintage shops ) and make something New or Change it.
And you?

As my girls are older now I get fewer opportunities to make them costumes @brittandjosie. I probably used to get more excited than them when they had to go to school as their favourite character from a book and so on. Now they just often ask me to re-make necklines or shorten t-shirts though - we're all short. I also love second-hand shops.

Have you seen any good fabric/yarn shops in Portugal, by the way?

YES I did tonight but still have so many fabrics at home that I only looked.
And the Same here for My oldest a daughter I mend and shorten things. For nr3 I do the jeans thing I explained in My blog. BUT the 6 and 7 year OLD want angry birds Suits and capes. I volunteer whenever there is something at school i say : i sew i sew i Will sew it 😊😉✂️ School loves it and do I. Last year three sewing mums did All the costums and the teoairs for easter, father christmas etc and we did the curtains. But Thats finished so I always volunteer wherever I van.
So I feel you !

As I just now commented on your previous post, you already know I love how your upcycling worked out. The sweater is great on your daughter and I hope she will wear it also outside the con :-D
Sewing a sweater is still on my to-learn list and so yours is really inspiring <3

Thank you @neumannsalva ! She's really pleased with it as it's baggy and comfy - I would hesitate totally if it included darts though.

It looks so pretty @cryptocariad ! I am so glad to know about recycling clothes , I almost never throw anyone away, and best of all it looks like a new dress at the end, I love the red star you put on it. It makes the top more exciting, your daughter wore it well!

Thank you @wondermaey! I hope you don't get like me though : hoarding clothes for 'upcycling' later :D

Oh no, I actually do that 🙈🙈

😄😄 too late then 😄😄 @wondermaey...

Another great upcycle success story!! 😃 I love how you used the star she drew and I love how you are using your resources to make new garments! The whole concept of upcycling is brilliant! Oh and I love Marvel anything!! This is really cute!!! ❤️

Thanks so much for sharing with us today for this #NeedleWorkMonday~

Thank you @needlworkmonday. It makes me feel better to know that I'm saving money actually... but also my daughter was unlikely to find a suitable garment to wear. It was 'reminiscent of', but I've noticed the current trend of 'colour blocking' so I will investigate that for more upcycling :D

This is really beutiful! I love to use my resources that not use and obtain brillant results.

Take advantage of what is not used is a perfect way to recycle. It also allows us to exploit our creativity.

Today I was thinking about a shirt, I really like the model. I told myself, I'll use it as a pattern, I'll buy a fabric and sew it on the machine. And when I do I will apply some crochet. I also told myself, in the shirt that I thought, I will apply some crochet.

I have many projects in mind, I want to have time for them.

I wish you are very well. ;)

It will be great to see your creations @jicrochet. Seeing so many great examples of creative work every Monday is really inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72