#NeedleworkMonday : Scarf using brioche stitch - an update - 311218

Thank you all so much for your support during this year and for your advice about this stitch @fiberfrau, @muscara, @shanibeer, and @kimmac.

I have to be quite ‘deliberate’ when knitting this two colour brioche stitch. I have unravelled the scarf quite a few times, but I don't mind as I'm learning something new.

For the record, I'm using double knitting acrylic yarn and size 3.25 knitting needles as the suggested size 4mm made the stitch appear too loose

I get to the end of each row and I either have one or two strands to deal with (see photos 1 and 2 above). The first stitch of each row needs to have a 'yarn over' using the other colour yarn.

In order to avoid the loops at the end of the row that I described yesterday (see the photo below) I have ‘worked out’ a strategy:

I have been positioning the yarn (see collage photo 3, depending on what colour I need to do) and then ‘wrapping’ the yarn I’m going to be knitting with ‘tightly’ before knitting it, and again ‘pulling’ the one that’s not knitted (photo 4 once knitted). This looks much neater.

It's beginning to take shape; it will be a narrow and short scarf; it's already about 60 cm so I’m half way there.

All best wishes for a successful and healthy 2019, Steem on !



work by photos by @cryptocariad



#NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille

Hosted by @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely and @crosheille

Sort:  

Your scarf is looking so neat and crisp! I love reading about you all finding solutions to a dilemma. I am so glad you have worked out a strategy that is enabling you to move along. Great work as always ~ 😊

Thank you very much for your support, @crosheille 🌺

Persistence pays off. It looks good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @fiberfrau... It still needs some refinement, but I'm happy with progress so far :D

Beautiful work. Thanks for posting this.
@cryptocariad
This is the first time I am learning about

knitting this two colour brioche stitch

Thank you, @rebeccabe. It's been a bit of a learning curve but it's made me more aware of how I'm holding the yarn and how I'm knitting it...

So clever of you to have worked out the solution! Brava!

Thank you, @kimmac... I'm sure there is a proper way out there though :D

It is turning out so pretty, and you are learning so much! Happy New Year!

Happy New Year, @jamethiel ! I'm nearly done now :D

Wow !!! great !!! I never tried to knit in this way. it turns out great !!!!

Thanks, @tali72 - I really like how you get the colour variation on both sides :D

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you, @steemitboard ! Tempus fugit :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43