#NeedleworkMonday : Knitting birds for spring ...

Today I am going to tell you about my attempt at getting better at reading knitting patterns.

Last year I was really fortunate to receive a knitting craft book I wanted badly… The title of the book is ‘Field Guide to Knitted Birds: Over 40 Handmade Projects to Liven Up Your Roost’ and is by Arne & Carlos (published by Search Press). Have you seen it?

When I started seeing these birds in magazines last year I was intrigued and the first feature I observed was that part of the body was constructed as part of a sock heel… I thought that in order to improve my sock knitting skills I ‘needed’ to get this book and so I put it on my wishlist. Below’s the back cover.

You can see part of the contents page of the book below. This was the first time I attempted a pattern like this from one of their books and I honestly found that the instructions were very clear. There was even a special page, which was easier to follow, with the ‘basic pattern’ - the one I attempted.

For the basic bird, I used size 4 double pointed needles and double knitting purple acrylic.

I can't write a tutorial of how I made the bird because it's not my own pattern, but below I include a couple of photos so you can follow the process.

In the first photo I have just completed the tail of the bird. You can probably sense the struggle, but I was happy I got that far considering that the actual tail was fiddly …. The instructions were easy to understand but knitting that very narrow shape with those ‘big’ double pointed needles was quite tricky… I even contemplated not knitting in the round, but I did not give up and I’m happy about that. Incidentally, in a past post @jamethiel has shown a super handy round needle. I feel that would be just fab for this tail knitting… That’s one thing I love of #needleworkmonday : I am always learning new skills, techniques and tools.

The second photo shows you when I managed to knit the whole body (in the round with those clanking needles). Incidentally, this is where I felt as if I was practising for sock knitting…

My advice at this point is to begin stuffing the bird because at the neck it gets much tighter. In my opinion I overstuffed it in the end, especially the tail. For a second bird, I would be tempted not to stuff the tail at all and see how it looks. I learnt from the experience.

The last photo shows you the last section. I tried to follow all of the instructions for the head, but it looked a bit odd… I continued anyway because I was a bit tired by then. I was feeling happy I had got this far though.

I think there is a way of starting the double pointed end of the tail with a close edge… I will certainly investigate that because my finishing wasn’t that great.

Anyhow… I sewed beads for the eyes and I am hoping to see how to make the beak next … After finishing it I felt I should have chosen a colour other than (my favourite purple) colour.

Below I have set my finished piece against my next challenge…. Moving on from the ‘basic pattern’ I would really love to make that blue tit in the book picture below.

I am lucky to live in the countryside and to see blue tits everyday and I know that the one in the picture looks a bit too elongated so I may have to ‘adapt’ the pattern slightly or over stuff it as I did with mine .

Two things that need to be said about the book. The photo above shows you what’s supposed to happen with the feet. It is very clever that the bird stands on the ‘feet frame’ so you can knit many birds and display a few at time and put them away without the feet (I guess)… I would prefer feet that are somehow included in the pattern though.

Also in the photo above you can see that while trying to read the pattern one needs to keep the page open - so I need to find a book stand probably.

I normally make very practical things but every so often I like experimenting by making items that do not have a direct application. To me it is also part of learning something new ... I could always use the bird as a pin cushion or key ring of course. I do not know much about birds but I certainly enjoy learning about them apart from their song, their colours and markings …

[ images taken by @cryptocariad of craft work and of my own book ]

Sort:  

Wow, this is a first for me - I have never seen cute knitted birds. I like your cute purple bird! I have trouble with directions sometimes with the items I'm crocheting!

Thanks @violetmed... It was a first for me actually following a pattern as best I could rather than 'adapting' it ... I tend to be a visual / diagram person really :)

I always like it better when I adapt the patterns. Or at least I tell myself that 😂😂😂

and generally so do I ... with varying degrees of success 😆

With the complexity of the instructions for the next bird, may I recommend taking a photocopy of the pages you were going to be working on so that you can check off each section or round as it is done. That way you don't need to carry the book and can write on the copied pages as needed to note what modifications you've made.
Thank you for the call out back to my prior post with the round needles. One thing I would mention is it it takes a minimum of about 50-60 stitches on the needles for them to work well for rounds. So a really narrow piece can't be easily done on round needles.
But you can move on to the round needles for the body after working the tail if it is a larger bird.
I really like how that first one turned out, it is kind of fun and spring like. The color of Something you would expect to find in a Easter basket. It definitely would make a great pin cushion if you needed one!

Thank you for the advice @jamethiel... I think I will take a copy to make it easier to manage. Thanks also re the knitting needles... I was hoping that was the answer though 😆

Great advice @jamethiel! 👌🏽

I NEED THAT BOOK! Didn't know it existed. I'm crazy about birds. I think you did an excellent job! About your tail cast-on, try searching for "Judy's Magic Cast-on"..it's not too hard. I like toe-up socks and this is how I do my cast-ons. Hope that helps.

When I'm working on a pattern from a nice book I write it out into my bullet journal. That way I can keep notes without messing up my book and by the time I've writen it out I'm "intimate" with the pattern. Thanks for showing your process and I hope to see that blue tit one day.

Thank you for the advice @fiberartists ! I will check out that cast on method !
I really appreciate your suggestions re the bullet journal / scrapbook 😊 . I am getting better at putting my drawings in sketchbooks so I will aim at keeping a similar system for fiber related projects. In that way I can revisit what I did in past projects ...

Awesome advice @fiberartists!! 👍🏽

I like your purple dove 😊.
The pattern looks like it offers good opportunities to practice quite a lot of different skills and techniques - knitting in the round, short rows, increasing and decreasing. And if you move on to the blue tit, colour knitting! Did you make it in one sitting? It would be an ideal project for a workshop. Arne wnd Carlos are good, aren't they? I haven't seen them in person, but I hear a lot about them when I go to knitting groups.

Thanks for the comments @shanibeer. Actually I get constant interruptions so, alas, the project took a few 'breaks', but it was all within a day. I used post-its to mark where I was. It's the first time I've attempted something like this, but I'm sure someone with more experience would definitely knit it during one workshop.
It was also my first experience following a pattern by these two authors. I'd seen their photos before - the cover of the book is quite funny :)

The basic pattern sounds like a good idea, and a goid way in for anyone who is starting with patterns.

The birds are cute, and I have no idea (not yet) how to produce them through knitting. And although I perhaps could try this in crochet, such tiny object normally drives me crazy, therefore: wow to your lovely purple bird. and I think learning new techniques is great. And I should follow your example, because I understand charts so much better than written patterns (mostly because I knit combination and must make the in- and decreases differently than written in the pattern)
I am curious to see your bird swarm :-D

🐦 🐤 🐔

Thank you @neumannsalva...

I agree with you re charts vs written instructions... The book I used also has charts/diagrams and so I was tempted to 'revert' to my usual, but the idea of the exercise was to force myself to follow instructions...

In the end the biggest issue was the size of the knitting needles 😆

The bird is adorable :D now I want the book too, looks pretty complex, I'm pretty bad at adding and reducing rows.

Thanks @ivan-g... It was quite fun making it 'come alive'...

Lovely birds.

I knit a tiny ghost one Halloween.

Thanks @metzli ! so did you follow the pattern or 'adapted it' ? Tiny ghosts hanging from a tree branch would look really cool actually :)

I followed the first part - my stitching seemed to work up easier and faster than their suggestion. The little ghost flies out around Halloween time.

it is wonderful!!!! the bird comes out very pretty. I wish you success in completing your work and look forward to the photos!

Thank you @tali72... I will post pictures when I manage to make another one 😉

These knitted birds are so cute!!! I love that you were able to get some helpful ideas from fellow crafters! You did a really good job especially because you are just learning these techniques. I do like the stand for the feet but I would be curious to see how knitted ones would turn out...I guess they wouldn’t help the bird stand though. 😄

I’ll be looking forward to tune in to your progress and seeing how things work out after trying some of the suggestions from the others ;)

Thanks for the comment @crosheille.
I laughed re the feet too 😊 I guess knitted / crocheted feet would do if the bird was just used as a hanging bag charm or something like that. I'm really looking forward to making that blue tit and see how the colours work out... I'd also be tempted to trying converting the pattern to crochet... I'm sure it can be done (somehow).

You’re welcome :) Lol right! Only if the bird was for hanging could you bypass the metal stand. I look forward to seeing this blue tit bird! I’m sure it could be done and has been done in crochet ;)

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69