3-D crocheting ...

If I told you in advance what these photos are for, you wouldn’t believe it… So I will leave the answer to the end of the post

I started by winding a bit of this very old yarn around my finger about 5 times to make a sort of magic ring. I then crocheted about 28 single crochet stitches all the way around and closed with a slipped stitch.

The second row was just one treble on every other single crochet of the previous row with 2 chains in between. This made sure that I kept a round shape. In the third row I did trebles on top of the existing trebles separated by chains and one treble on the space of the previous row all separated by one chain. The next row I just crocheted where there were trebles separated by a chain.

I thought that was the right size (everything in the project ins done by eye except for counting the initial 28 stitches).

I crocheted 3 rows of what was really filet stitch. The last photo below shows how I then crocheted 3 rows of single crochet making sure to increase by adding a chain every so often to widen the shape.

I could have left it there and made a dolly hat… I actually used to make quite a lot of dolly clothing when my girls were younger… Of course most got lost… This is not a hat though.

I then did a row of trebles and crocheted through the back of the previous stitch to create a ridge as I tried to show above… Eventually this idea didn’t make much difference anyway…

After that row of trebles I did a row where I skipped one treble everytime and added a chain which made it look like filet stitch again.


You could be forgiven for thinking that I am making a mushroom at this point... I may actually do that soon (I like mushrooms), but this is not a mushroom.

I then crocheted a row of trebles on every stitch and finished the project with a row of crab stitch to add a bit of stability…

Below is the final result.

I then cut the thread and you can see what it was like…. I bought it from the British Heart Foundation charity shop ages ago and it didn’t have a label though I think it’s probably nylon… I used a size 2 crochet hook …

So, what is this for ?.... the main thing is ‘where’ it is for really.

It's just a 3D crochet solution to a household problem : the soap dish in the shower got broken a couple of years ago… At the time I found a lid and put it upside down and it got used since then and until it got broken. I glued the lid, but it didn’t last long… I could have tried to buy something, but where is the fun in doing that ?

Incidentally, I have been campaigning for a 3D printer for ages. I think that would have made this a fun project to attempt but, alas, I can’t justify the expense so I thought that crocheting a soap dish that doesn’t break would be just fine.

I shall hopefully continue on my machine knitting this coming week... for now I am looking forward to seeing your posts.

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Hi @goldendawne ! Thank you so much for this... even if not chosen, it makes me happy, especially if it gives ideas of things to make to save money and resources 😊

That is ingenious! I have the same problem here. I hate soap getting all soggy or crusty at the side of the washbasin, so I've been buying handwash for the past few years. But now I want to cut down the amount of plastic I buy and I was wondering how to manage the soap dish problem. This is ideal, and you can throw them in the washing machine as well. Excellent!

Thank you, @shanibeer. Yes, that's the plan... to make more things although the yarn was not natural, but it was recycled ...

Well what do ya know?!!! I have to admit I thought you were making a cute little dolly hat! Then when you said mushroom it did look like one. 😄 I would have have never guessed it would have been a soap tray. I loved how you kept us in suspense throughout the post and waited till the end to reveal what it was. Very clever and handy project!!

Great job on the process pictures, I enjoyed seeing it come together!! 😃😉

Thank you, @crosheille... It was satisfying to create something for the home that was needed 'badly' 😉

I bet it was! 😉

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-68

Thank you from the BOTtom of my heart @muxxybot :)

hee hee hee I thought that you crochet a hat :))))) this is a great idea !!!!!

thank you @tali72 I did feel happy actually making something that could be used straight away. 😊

I told my husband about your project. he also really liked your idea. he also believes that it is better to do by oneself than to go and buy

We crocheters can make just about anything! Good job 😀

Indeed we can... just about .... 😊 @anise

At first I thought it was a hat. but then I was very surprised when I saw that it was a soap dish)). great idea!

Thank you @inna-yatsuk... It may not be that great but we really needed to get a new soap dish - now that money saved can be spent on more yarn 😊

You had me in suspense the WHOLE time, @cryptocariad! I love it. An I love the MacGuyver in you that makes a crochet solution to a broken soap dish! Soon you will be making hammocks when chairs break. LOL! Wonderful. Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thank you @crystalize ! You made me laugh about the 'MacGuyver in me' .... an honour ! 😆

I really did think it was for a hat at first! My brother has a similar hat that was made for one of his toy dragons. Great use for it though, especially the fact that it can be washed whenever you need to de-gunk it.

and it won't keep breaking... oh, and I must make that mushroom at some point... @jamethiel 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60380.95
ETH 2623.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55