Needlework Monday - Custom Made Outfits For My Daughter~

FA063F1A-1C7E-4AC0-ACCA-C4681FD19269.jpeg

Yay we made it to another #NeedleWorkMonday! I am happy to share with you today some of my mother’s sewing work. I have mentioned before that my mother has been sewing for over 30 years. She tried teaching my sister and I how to sew when we were younger but at that time we thought it was so boring and pointless. Little did we know it was a very useful and valuable skill that she was trying to teach us. I wish I could go back to that time because it is not easy for me teaching myself how to sew at this age. I feel like I have tons to learn and not enough patience to do it.

Last week my daughter turned 8. My mom told me she was working on some outfits to give to her on her birthday. My daughter loves twirling around in skirts so my mother knew just what to make her. I’d have to say I am very impressed with how my daughter appreciates handmade items. When my mother made us outfits back then we were embarrassed to wear them to school. Back then the pressure of wearing name brand clothing vs. handmade clothing was really apparent. As I got older I felt guilty for not appreciating the work my mother put in to customizing our clothing and how she worked hard with her hands to make us look good. So to see my daughter so excited about what her grandmother makes literally brings me to tears. It makes sense why she has a passion to learn how to sew. I guess it skipped a generation.

7D2E0F97-D09B-4CC5-969F-C6698FAE2379.png

Outfit #1 Breakdown

The Sleeves & Front of Jacket

A04E65E4-32BB-4A79-8904-FCA0A80BED6D.jpeg

4A695C3A-3D64-445A-9257-70A416AC381B.jpeg

I love that my mom used different fabrics and materials to put this outfit together. She used suede for the sleeves and also for the front of the jacket. It’s funny because my mom loves 3 quarter length sleeves but my daughter thinks they feel weird lol. I think she’ll grow into liking them. She aligned the sleeves and front jacket with ric rac trim to give it more character.

Back of Jacket

C1086BFE-74F1-43DD-9E3B-B60DE45DD873.jpeg

The back of the jacket is made with upholstery material. She wanted the jacket to be nice and sturdy and to hold up for a long time. I like the colored flowers and leaves that are on this material and I like the texture. The jacket really stands out because of these things. Upholstery material isn’t cheap. I wasn’t expecting her to use this material but I’m glad she did.

Inside Jacket

0FA27492-CB4C-4883-9971-AB4405DFDA13.jpeg

Inside you see this pretty colored orange satin material. I like that it accents with the colors of the flowers and leaves of the upholstery material on the outside.

The Skirt

1BAAED99-A910-424E-8723-20E4B9A70570.jpeg

She wanted the skirt to have a nice shine so she chose satin for the outside. For the inside she chose to use more suede. It helps to give the skirt a little more weight and it feels so soft and cozy. The skirt is also aligned with ric rac.

Front pic of the whole outfit

166F76F3-B84A-4A12-9C63-401066AF5225.jpeg

I don’t know what I was thinking when I told her to throw on this black shirt to wear underneath. I apologize that it might be hard to see everything because she is wearing all black. However I think you get the gist of the outfit. When she wears it she’ll pick out a colorful shirt that accents the colors on the back of the jacket. My little girl is growing up fast. 😢💕 She’s excited that her front two teeth are finally growing back in. 😄

58E751B2-3C40-466F-98F0-93E66E017D5C.png

Outfit #2 Breakdown

The Vest

A96C5A7C-A366-46D1-91AE-A667E29844B7.jpeg

FE45EC6E-280A-4AFB-9020-78F563424EDE.jpeg

57882716-3AC0-4487-BB20-5D22FE0D3764.jpeg

This cotton flannel fabric she used is very lightweight. My daughter really likes the plaid design. My mom wanted to use contrasting materials again so she chose velour for the collar. She also added two front pockets with frayed edges all around.

The Skirt

7B208B2B-C660-44E5-A7E6-7AEA43355CF5.jpeg

6B8544CF-82E8-4103-A3A0-AAACF849AF37.jpeg

To give this skirt more character she did a couple of things. She made the front of it slightly longer than the back and decided to give it frayed ends.

Side pic of outfit

85F746CA-21D0-478E-B580-14BA119762B0.jpeg

Front pic of whole outfit

B12DB977-CFC5-4C2E-9955-ED4D330E718B.jpeg

CED0846D-E1EA-41F2-9ED5-928F17F37FE6.png

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6

I hope you enjoyed viewing my daughter’s custom made outfits hand sewn by my mom. I’ll be showcasing her work from time to time for #NeedleWorkMonday. I wouldn’t feel right not doing so. It’s because of my mom that I even have a crafty bone inside of me. Watching her sew, quilt, cross-stitch and paint growing up, helped trigger the interests that I have now with crocheting, knitting and sewing. She has made quite a few things in her life and I want to share her talents with you all. It is important to cherish our loved ones while they are here and show them appreciation for their skills and hard work. Now that I am older and more wiser I can truly do those things now because I understand.

I’m looking forward to visiting your crafty blogs today! Don’t ya just love Monday’s!! 😄❤️

A323EDCC-1E05-474F-B252-75CD40F94684.png

018062A0-7710-41D3-8088-7371EF82E91C.png

B18DAC55-9F0A-423B-B3EB-C465B102D70E.png

5D7B635B-2283-4D4D-9E26-211CF6145669.gif

E0BBC3D8-BFD8-4376-9874-B15ED9ABA23F.png

7CB301DA-F683-4AE1-8757-620AE96FF08F.png

2AB51C54-3567-47BA-9C8A-B469C3735231.png

SMbannersmall.png

122371DB-BE5B-4CC3-B685-50D6D85BB0B0.png

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #116 (4/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Hi dear @crosheille... I really enjoyed looking at your mom's great work!!

Thank you so much @geetharao!! I’m so glad you enjoyed viewing ~ 😊

Love the colors ..Wow amazing work!

Thank you very much!!! 😃

such an adorable happy face! :) I can see why she is happy with her outfits, your mother is very skilled. The clothes look lovely! :) You're not the only one who thought sewing was boring and useless in youth, only to appreciate it when older. Now I can't find enough time to do all the things I want to try! :)

Thank you!! ☺️ Yes I have grown to appreciate and love my mother’s work. I feel the same way as you. Now I want to try so many things that back then I had no interest s in whatsoever. Finding the time is quite hard these days ;)

Happy birthday to your daughter :) Talking about the jacket, the thumbnail photo already caught my eyes. I like the flower print fabric a lot. And the orange inner is cool! The color contrast is wonderful. I want to have the same one ...

Thank you for the birthday wishes!! Lol I thought that picture was the best display of the outfit, glad I used it for the thumbnail! 😃 The flower print is my favorite and all the colors. Thank you so much for your sweet comment!

When my mom was a kid, her mother made all their clothes or they went without. It was honorary to get a new dress.

I think I would have been embarrassed too, as a kid to wear homemade stuff. What a silly generation we were. I'm so glad your daughter likes them. Hopefully mine will too. I make all their Halloween costumes, but they are little still so don't mind.

I couldn’t agree more, we were such a silly generation. I am so glad she is proud of them and appreciates them.

I hope your kids grow to love and appreciate your handmade work as well~ 😊

Wow, you can just feel the happiness exuding from the girl. When I was little and I get new clothes, I would try them on like hundreds of times in a day until my mom asks me to keep them . they were like newly acquired jewels. I love the jacket but I'm on your daughter's side about the sleeves though. The upholstery material 👍 only the best for a grand daughter☺.
But If I lived in the same house with your daughter I would have convert the flannel fabric. I absolutely adore it , its so beautiful. Enjoy grandma little angel🙂

Oh yes she is very very happy with her new outfits. She likes to wear her new clothes around the house all the time too. I think she treasures them as jewels just like you did. She is totally the opposite of how I was, mainly because I let my peers decide for me what was nice to wear...sadly but true.

Yes my mother definitely wants only the best for her grands! ☺️ Thank you very much for the compliments of my mother’s work ~

I bet your daughter is so proud! Rest assured when she becomes a team and wants designer rubbish, I have no doubt in a few years she will wanting to wear her Mums homemade again.

Such a talent!

Yes she is very proud to tell everyone her grandma made her those outfits! Thank you so much for viewing!!! 😊

They do look really great on her :)

You did great and we wish sometime we could get back into time and get to do some things over again .

Nevertheless ,keep your work going on !

Thank you! My mother really does great work. I think about how if I would have learned from her back then I would be a great seamstress like her today. But I’ll keep moving forward and learning as I go from here ;)

Your mother did an amazing job with this, it looks really nice, I would wear that too 😉💚

Thanks so much!!! What a sweet compliment! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55