Knitting Goals 2018

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

Hello all!
This is my first post on Steemit, and I figured I'd jump right in and post on the topic that gets me pumped up: knitting! I began knitting about 2.5 years ago and was hooked right away. Partly because I love having an activity that allows me to sit around listening to podcasts or watching Netflix while being "productive," but mainly because of the sense of accomplishment I get when I finish a garment that I've made with my own two hands.


(and no, I cannot knit and read at the same time. This was a switching-back-and-forth scenario).

I'm not always great at setting New Year's resolutions, but I'm really making an effort to do so this year because I believe that having clearly articulated goals is super helpful in achieving new things. That being said, I must admit that I don't have my #knittinggoals2018 clear yet. What about you all? What are you excited to do this year? Make something for the first time? Learn a new skill set? Handmade presents year-round? I'd love to hear from you and who knows, perhaps be inspired in setting my own goals for 2018!


What next??

I'm proud to say that I met my Knitting Goal 2017. I started the year not knowing how to knit in the round but was determined to knit my first sweater by year's end. And I did! The afternoon of December 31 (still counts!) I cast off the #flaxlight sweater from Tin Can Knits. I chose it because it was a recommended first-time sweater pattern and rightfully so. It taught me a lot about sweater construction without the distractions of complicated lace charts or cables. Usually I work on two projects at once: a complicated, you-better-pay-attention challenge and a simpler can-work-on-it-during-a-meeting knit. Aside from the moments when I had to focus on construction (joining front and back, separating sleeves, picking up and knitting the sleeves) this was definitely the latter. All knit-stitch simplicity!


Admittedly, as a first-time sweater knitter the fit is not exactly what I dreamed of. I made my husband take about 20 photos before he got one I'd post! :)

I'd like to do the April pullover from Quince and Co. but man, is that some intense construction. This one may have to wait until 2019.
Image result for quince and co april sweater

So lay some knitting inspiration on me! I'm ready to get cracking on my 2018 goals--once I have them set. Thanks all for reading and I look forward to sharing more with you all in the future

Sort:  

First, WELCOME to Steemit!! We are so happy to have you be part of the Needleworkmonday community!! I love that you have goals for knitting in 2018 and think it’s a fantastic idea. I’ll be sitting down today to write out all my goals for 2018 and will be sure to include my crochet goals! Great first post and I look forward to seeing many more from you in Monday’s to come!!

Thanks @bedoodle! I'm excited to have joined in and especially excited that I found needleworkmonday on my first day on Steemit, what luck!

Hello @colleenthurber. I am also new to steemit. I have been knitting for ages but nothing really big -
scarves, hats mainly. I also don't have clear resolutions, but this year I would also like to knit a pair of socks... Making two of the same that actually fit will be a real challenge. All the best.

Well done on a fabulous first jumper! It looks very neat and well made! I crocheted a jumper for my other half and i swear even the hunchback wouldnt have fit in it!! At least i can recycle the yarn at some point :)

And welcome to steemit - the crafting community here is amazing and so encouraging :) cant wait to see more of your makes. Youve inspired me to set myself some goals too. Im hoping to try my hand at quilting, but thinking i might set some goals to get gifts etc made early :D

Hi @colleenthurber! It is SO fantastic that you selected #NeedleworkMonday as your first post, and we are delighted to have you here. I love that you are setting knitting goals! What a great idea to stay motivated and creative. Welcome!

Thanks @crystalize! I'm really happy to have found the needlework community here and am excited to continue to share and learn with you guys! Appreciate your support!

Yay! We are thrilled to have you. Love your sweater!

Welcome to Steemit. I'm new as well and an avid fiber artist. Even if you're not happy with your first sweater, it looks great. You took the step, and that's the important part. You can't get better if you don't try first.

So true @luthvarian . . . I'm excited to make another one

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @colleenthurber to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome aboard to Steemit and to #NeedleworkMonday! I am so glad you found us already! Yay! You definitely inspired me with this post. As you already know I’m learning to knit and I can’t even imagine doing anything but a simple square. It would probably take me 3 years to be bold enough to try a sweater lol!

Even though the fit wasn’t all the way to your liking it is really a nice sweater. I think it’s good that you are setting goals for yourself. Goals help us to strive for something and I really hope you reach yours. Thank you so much for sharing with us today and I look forward to hearing and seeing more from you! 😊

Thanks for the kind words @crosheille! It's exciting to see how positive and supportive this community is, I'm very happy to have found it! Looking forward to sharing a lot more with you guys in the future :)

You’re very welcome ~ Yes this is a very positive community and I hope you receive lots of support along the way. I’m looking forward to seeing more ;)

Welcome to SteemIt @colleenthurber. It's great to see you on here. Congrats on making your 2017 knitting goal on time. Looking forward to seeing what you will close to work on this month.

I love the sweater you made! I taught myself to crochet at 11 and I've been sewing ever since I can remember....but try as I might, knitting is just daunting!! Probably because I'm terrified of dropping stitches, so I can't relax and enjoy it :-/ So I'm really impressed that you tackled a whole sweater! :)

Thanks @mtnmeandowmomma! It took me years of saying that I'd like to learn how to knit to finally sit down with someone who taught me the basics but once I did, I was off and running! It's been a couple of years now that I've been saying how much I'd like to learn to sew, so one of these days . . . .

Welcome to steemit and congrads on knitting yourfirst sweater! I crocheted my first sweater in 2017 and I can identify with the sense of accomplishment you feel. My goal for 2018 is to learn to knit, but for now I have discovered painting by number ... again, and that is taking up all my time! Too many crafts...too little time!

Thank you @anise! And I hear you . . . too many crafts! I'll try to keep up with blogging about them but sometimes it's hard to fit it all in, haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55