A Flower Crown for Edie Rae

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

Around this time last year, I found myself with a free day. Now, living in the mountains of Guatemala means that sometimes it's hard to get my hands on crafting materials when inspiration strikes (no Amazon Prime here!) so I tend to load up on them when traveling and keep them on hand for future projects. I had a stash of beautiful plant-dyed felts on hand from The Fiber Craft Studio in upstate New York which I'd been jealously hoarding for several months, and knew that it was finally time to create.

felt.jpg

Using my then two-year old niece as creative muse and my background as a Waldorf Early Childhood Educator as my aesthetic, I set about creating a flower crown for little Edie Rae. I'd never made one before but it's quite simple. A little googling convinced me that felt flowers were totally doable. Here's a great video of the process. Some how-tos recommend using a glue gun but mine came out just fine with a simple needle and thread. The crown itself I made by cutting out a simple design and sewing two layers of felt together for strength.

Meg and Edie.jpg
I mean, look at this kid. She obviously deserves a crown!

Then the fun part started. I spent quite some time messing around with different designs and configurations of how to sew all the flowers onto the crown, but once I hit on one I liked I knew that I'd found it. The flowers were quickly sewn on over some green felt leaves, and a little ribbon sewn into each side of the crown to tie onto Edie's head. And voilá! There was a flower crown for Edythe. What's one of the best presents you've crafted?

15994438_10101200480095115_470179089050592509_o.jpg

Sort:  

This is the sweetest crown a little girl could ask for! I love the soft colors and the touch of gold lining you used for the stitching. You did an amazing job on those flowers, wow! It’s a very beautiful gift! Thank you so much for sharing with us this week :)

Thanks @crosheille! It's easy to give a gift to a girl that amazing

Absolutely! 😉

Hola @colleenthurber. I really like the crown and the neat stitching you used. I like working with felt too.
Interesting question you pose at the end... I knitted a scarf this Xmas lengthways, but the person I gave it to said it was too long and could I shorten it... too bad I would have to cut the knitting and then find a way to stop it from unravelling ...

Oh no! I don't know anything about shortening knitting other than undoing it, but it sounds like that wouldn't work for a lengthwise scarf. Let me know if you figure a solution out!

Hi @colleenthurber, and Happy #NeedlworkMonday!

Okay, that crown is fantastic! Did she love it? If she didn't , I'll wear it..LOL!
The plant-dyed felts have such beautiful color and you did an amazing job on those flowers. The gold stitching is a nice touch!

We are running a contest for the creation of a NeedlworkMonday group logo! Artists are posting their submissions through this coming Saturday. Please vote for your favorite submission and feel free to resteem for more submissions. https://steemit.com/contest/@crystalize/contest-create-a-group-logo-win-4-sbd. Thank you!

Thanks @crystalize! I saw the contest yesterday and I'll definitely check out the submissions and vote for one.

Thank you so much for helping us pick a winner with your vote!

I really like felt products. when we were in Europe, I saw many wonderful things and really wanted to buy something for myself. but in Israel, felting is not very suitable for the weather :))) the crown is wonderful! take a picture of the baby with this crown for us :)

Thanks @tali72! Yes felt is such a nice material to work with. It's hard to find wool felt where I live so it's an extra special treat to get my hands on some!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @colleenthurber to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54