#needleworkmonday Crochet Blanket and Snuggly Bulldogs...

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

I have finally gotten around to starting my crochet project that I have been talking about doing for months!

Thanks to @Crosheille, I remembered to post about it too haha

We are experiencing some pretty cold weather here in the UK, so my crochet hooks have come out to play.

I need a warm blanket on these cold evenings to wrap around my legs to keep me and my bullies warm.

yvyaojbhfs.jpg

The wool I am using is ARAN Yarn which is 75% Acrylic and 25% wool. I like this yarn as it washes well, and with so many dogs in the house, I have to wash things regularly!

ss1r0w2g3x.jpg

I have used 2 main colours, Grey and Cream and also used a speckled cream in there too, just to add a little more depth

aqzys95hb8.jpg

I am using a 5mm crochet hook for all the stitches.

I started with 4 granny squares and stitched them together with a ribbed look to add a little bit of texture.

tiwoml3rwd.jpg

The blanket is a nice size right now at about 1 meter squared, however I want to make it about twice that size so that I can fit it around me and the bullies together on the sofa!

As it stands, I don't think Fiddy will let me have it back, she is just too snuggly...

ab1noad3e7.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed the post!

Thank you so much for stopping by.

Much love, Cheryl and Fiddy xx

BTS address: bb-bulldogs


A huge thank you to @zord189 for my bouncing bullies signature!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Phototalent banner.jpg

Sort:  

Ohhhhh My gosh cheryl I love the grey and open white stitch and I See that fiddy found it too Haha. I need to learn this 😬 I am making My needle work blog to monday needle day 😉👊

I love grey and cream together I think it is such a snug blend of colours perfect for winter! :D
Glad you like the post! Yes Fiddy loves a nice warm blanket, I think I am going to struggle to get it back to finish it off! xD

Sounds like the dog world here, everything gets taken , but Those eyes he, Those eyes

Oh those images with your bullie are priceless!!!

Also the granny square was the first crochet stitch my mom and grandma taught me- takes me back

You can't beat the old faithful granny square! :D
Fiddy is such a cutie, she loves a snuggle with her mum, especially if blankets are involved lol

Oh my goodness! You said you hope I like it...lady I LOVE this!!! First those pictures of that snuggly bullie, just too darn cute for words! I don’t think she’s gonna let you in on that blanket!! 🤣

I love love love the idea of starting your blanket off with granny squares and then adding work around it, how brilliant!! I have never made a granny square but this sure makes me want to now! It really does add more character and depth to it!

Then the colors are so warm, cozy and inviting!! You are doing a beautiful job!! Why is this the first week we are seeing this? 😜 You know I had to tease you, please keep us updated and show us more pics with more cozy bullies! 🥰🤩😍

Thanks so much for sharing!

I knew you would tease me! xD

To be fair, I should have thought about taking pictures from the start but you know what it is like once you get crocheting, you get lost in the process! I will update for sure when it is finished ;)

Fiddy is still in the same position since I took those photos a couple of hours ago, I don't think she wants me to finish it off, she likes it just big enough for her haha xD

So happy you like it! :D

Hee hee! 😄

Oh yes I know how easy it is to get lost in the beauty of the art and the fun of it all! Especially the excitement of seeing it get bigger and bigger!

Ha ha uh oh you might have to start on a second one for you and the others, at least you’ll have an opportunity to take beginning pics! 🤣😁

That is so beautiful! The blanket AND the dog – she's adorable :) Very inspiring. I used to crochet as a child – it's decades since I did any, but I'd be quite tempted to do some again if I could find the time. Aran wool is so warm, and being only 25% wool would be great for me, as I'm a bit allergic to wool.

Thank you! :D
You should definitely try it again, it is so relaxing! And once you get into it, you don't really have to think about it your hands just work automatically :)

This picture takes my heart away! Fiddy is so precious @beautifulbullies :) Your quilt is beautiful, love the granny squares in the middle, a great idea. I'm sure you'll have to fight your little friends for this quilt! lol

Thank you hehe :D

Fiddy looks pretty comfortable wrapped in that blanket, you may as well face it that you aren't getting that blanket to yourself any time soon.
Nice needle work BTW, some real talent on display in that blanket construction.

Haha you are so right, she won't let me have it back to finish it! lol
Thank you Papper :)

That will keep you nice and warm on a cold winters day :)

I love that blanket, wish i could crotchet :)

Karen you would love it, you should learn, it is so much easier than knitting! There are some brilliant youtube videos too that help you learn the basic stitches. Go for it! :D

I have tried a couple of times but can't get it right. I'm no good with knitting or crochet

Beautiful blanket on a cute little dog.

Nice to hear you finally kickstart your

It took me a while but I got there lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39