You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Personalizing Gwen's Quilt Back Using My Embroidery Machine - Needlework Monday

Lol - I have had a needle break and fly at my face. It is scary. I have a quilt named "Blood, Sweat, and Tears" for good reason as well. I sewed part of my finger on that one! Quilting is fun, but can be dangerous. I took home ec three times (they kicked me out the third time), but I never did get into the sewing one. Only the cooking part. :)

Sort:  

Ouch! That doesn't sound like it was a fun quilt to make! How did you take EC three times?!

The Home Ec class I had was a little of everything. I don't know why they removed it, to be honest. If I were designing curriculum, I'd have a class that focused on basic survival skills for the 21st century. I've seen too many undergrads sent off to college that couldn't cook Ramen.

One kid, back in my undergrad days, managed to mess up the washing machine so spectacularly that I thought he might not be college material. I think he used dish soap or something, because the bubbles had literally pressurized and started coming out around the washing machine door.

He definitely could have benefited from a how-to-life class!

Yes, I TRIED to take it three times. Once in middle school (cooking) then once in 9th grade (cooking) and then I signed up for it again but found out it was cooking again on day 1, so they told me I couldn't do it twice...it wouldn't count. The last school I taught at still has Home Ec (middle school). Yes, kids these days (shaking my head). I gotta teach my kids how to do laundry (although they do sort and put theirs away). One son makes mac and cheese and the older two can make sandwiches, cut apples, make lemonade, etc. Not totally useless, but the oldest is only 9. :) Lol - yes, that kid sounds like he needed some kind of help before making it to college. ;) Ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44