The Leftie Crocheter

in #needlework5 years ago

I have been absent on steemit for quite a while, but it has been for several reasons. My boss in my first online job gave me quite a handful of assignments. Which, as luck would have it, was also the same case with my boss on my second online job. Both are nice and they pay good money so I'm not really on the position to complain. Although, it had pulled me away from my other activities.

I still haven't finished my amigurumi project. Up until now, I'm at letter S. And letters O to S doesn't have stuffing inside yet because I ran out of textile scraps. I'm still in the process of shredding my undonateable old clothes. Do you guys have that one or two pieces of clothing that you just love wearing even when they're already almost torn apart on several places? I've decided to start my minimalist lifestyle by starting with my clothes. Those old clothes that can still be used will go to donation boxes. Those that are not so usable anymore, to the shredding box and will be used as stuffing for my amigurumi projects. (Yes, I will be making more amigurumi in the future. Yay!)

I felt encouraged to start a minimlist lifestyle when I found I had a lot of junk in my storage boxes! I found this out when I was packing our things. We will be moving to a new apartment in a couple of weeks. And because I already got my hands full, I am working on packing our things little by little so I won't cram when it's moving day. And so far, I have thrown boxes and boxes and bags and bags of trinkets that I couldn't even recognize. I was a sentimentlist. (if that's a word) I tend to keep tickets from movies, chocolate wrappers, old notebooks (yes, I still have my highschool notebook for my favorite subject), and so much more that could have been either recycled or sold at the junkshop.

So those are the other things that kept me away from my hobbies. That and of course taking care of the family while completing my Insanity workout. I'm on month 1, week 4, Day 5 right now. So far, I've lost more than 20lbs. And my muscles are slowly building up and I loooooove it!

When I got the chance to hold my crochet needle, I thought of making a vlog for leftie crocheters. It's difficult to find a crochet video tutorial for a left hander. And as Mahatma Gandhi said, "Be the change you wish to see in the world." I decided to give my idea a go. Not that it would be that much of a change in the world, but at least, I'm doing something that I think would help other aspiring crocheter. I will be someone that I badly needed when I was just starting out again in crocheting. My mom has been extra patient with me when she taught me the basics, and I can imagine how hard it was for her since she's right handed.

Here's my first video as The Leftie Crocheter on Youtube.

How to do Chain Stitch amd Single Crochet

I'm still brushing up on my video editing techniques but so far, I'm learning. Which has been my motto this year. "Always try to learn something new."

Shameless plug: Please go ahead and view my video. Hit like if you loved it, or leave a comment. If you'd like to join my Leftie Crocheter Youtube journey, please go ahead and hit the Subscribe button. :)

Sort:  

You seem to be using older version of eSteem!
Please update to newest version to get most out of eSteem, Install Android, iOS mobile app. For desktop Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected and you have received an upvote from the Steemitmamas community account. Thank you for contributing great content!

This is a curation initiative supported by the @steem-hodler tribe

20180516_002249_0001.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.026 which ranks you at #10988 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 11001).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 128 contributions, your post is ranked at #111.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey @romeskie

Level 17 of the @upvoteshares project has become available and your reserved shares are ready to be taken up. (https://steemit.com/curation/@upvoteshares/upvote-shares-level-17-available)

Feel free to let me know in case you don't want them so I can grant them to someone else.

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78