You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Needlework : Finished square made using 'double knitting' technique and first drawing using a tablet - 261218

in #needlework6 years ago (edited)

You can do "non mirrored" images in double knitting for letters etc. - but that will tax your brain even more. Normal double knitting is a dual system: a pair of stitches can be Color1/Color2 or Color2/Color 1. If you want to have different patterns there are four possibilities: 1/1, 1/2, 2/1, 2/2. You have to pay much more attention.

I prefer double knitting to lace in matters of intricacy - it's mostly far easier to go back and fix mistakes or dropped stitches. But it's not casual knitting, at least not for the first several thousand stitches.

Here's a picture of how such a pattern is notated:

Sort:  

That diagram looks so impressive, @muscara. Is the chart above from an actual pattern ?
I agree with you about lace knitting. Lace is sort of 'dear' to me as it's one of the first things that I learnt : keep the number of stitches and unravelling whole lengths due to mistakes... More recently I learnt about 'random' lace but I haven't tried it though it sounds fun to just go for it.

I feel like saying 'when I grow up, I want to knit like that', @muscara, but it's a bit late for that and I keep getting distracted with interesting techniques.
That scarf will look just wonderful and so clever too!
So the yarn described, 'worsted / 10 ply (9 wpi)' would be about a 4 ply ?
The photos show the scarf as not too light but not too thick either.
Thanks for the info !

It's quite a bit thicker - here is a table of yarn weights

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the extra info, @muscara ! I still don't know how it looks great if the yarn is thicker...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44