You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ned on SBD: "Does the community want to continue to be paid out in Steem Dollars?"

in #ned8 years ago (edited)

Would you rather have a Steem at $1 without SD or keep it around and have the price at 13 cents or lower?

This is another nonsensical statement from you. I'm frankly stumped at where your head is at on this. Have you lost a lot of money on STEEM and looking for someone or something to blame?

There is no rational basis to suggest that STEEM would be or become worth 8x as much were it to not have a few percent of its value in SBD as is currently the case (at one time it reached a maximum of 9%). That's just completely and entirely absurd, bordering on an irresponsible and outright dishonest sales pitch.

There are some very good reasons why STEEM's price has been declining and is now what it is (though it is always hard to know precisely what moves markets). SBD is not, to any significant degree, one of them.

Sort:  

This is another nonsensical statement from you. I'm frankly stumped at where your head is at on this. Have you lost a lot of money on STEEM and looking for someone or something to blame?

Like I said before we disagree on this but I'm frankly disappointed on your tone. I am not going to indulge this any further.

[nested reply from below]

I think @tombstone makes a good potential point

I have been advocating vigorously to reduce the interest rate for more or less exactly that reason. In fact recently more of the witnesses have begun to see it the same way and the interest rate has started to come down, to 6-7% currently. I believe it should go even lower. I agree with tombstone that SBD can add a lot of value (in fact I believe it already does) as a payment vehicle without piling a lot of effectively long-term debt and risk.

BTW, I do intend to answer the question you asked about what happens if the debt ratio goes to 9% but I haven't had time to compose the reply yet.

Thanks. I think that may be solution that everyone can get behind.

BTW, I do intend to answer the question you asked about what happens if the debt ratio goes to 9% but I haven't had time to compose the reply yet.

No problem I think we are all busy right now. I love this kind of discussion because I find economics and the interface with psychology fascinating. Plus I also find it quite educational to discuss it with others particularly if they have different perspectives.

I do like the Steem dollar and I am not opposed to keeping it having thought about and spoken with @Beanz too - there are more psychological factors at work than I had previously considered - such as the PR potential for non crypto people and greater ease of acceptance by merchants.

I wonder if we have any economists, or psychological economists (is that the right word) who could also give some opinions on this subject?

Sad that you can't even address the rest of my comment which points out with cold hard facts (i.e. numbers) how what you are claiming makes no sense. Why are you so reluctant to connect your views on this to some sort of actual logic or factual evidence?

OK then. It is 3.5% now. What if it get's to 9% again? The momentum and sentiment that creates on the market is what worries me more than anything. I'm not saying it is responsible for all our problems.

I hope I didn't come across as being too harsh or dogmatic in my opinion. I can sometimes be quite forceful in my opinions and I am in no sense an expert in these things. I think @tombstone makes a good potential point here:

Some have also argued that SBD causes systemic risk. But in that case why not just lower the interest rate (substantially, if need be)? That way fewer people will hold it, but it will remain a selling point for some % of people that otherwise might not consider the platform.

Perhaps that is a better solution which can take both sides of the argument into consideration?

Anyway my opinions are never really set in stone even if I may sometimes give that impression. I am happy to be involved in the discussion because I think that makes us stronger as a community - even if it means confronting things I don't initially agree with.

It is always a learning exercise for me. It would be interesting to get the opinions of some professional economists (assuming we have some in the community).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52