You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem-Backed Dollar (SBD): Having your cake and eating it too

in #ned8 years ago

"The current user experience will remain unchanged!"

The current user experience is anything but unchanged. It has been rewritten, those who learned to vote optimally, are now relearning. Those who were making the wages of a full time job for just voting (with a 10k investment in SP) are now making less than 60 dollars per month. It has all changed - even the interested rate on SBD's has changed from 15% to 9% to 8% and all you need to do is look at it again tomorrow to see what else they are doing to it.

Sort:  

The change that I am proposing will not affect the user experience. Of course I'm not saying that the user experience hasn't changed.

Sorry. The line tripped a trigger - I am having to deal with huge pendulum swings by the developers which have made every "help" and "tutorial" post null and void. Nothing against your post.

I invested 1 bitcoin in SBD a month ago - or $741 sbd.. and have yet to receive .001 of interest on it. At the same time, I watch the published interest fall as well. Now, people are telling me that I have to have a transaction in order to trigger the interest payment.

So, I started the 3 day withdrawal process to "Send myself some SBD" in order to trigger the algorithm to send me an interest payment. Then someone sent me a small payment. Still nothing.
I am sure it works - Just seems really 'mickey mouse' in the way it's written.

Your last SBD savings interest payment was 2016-11-29T14:13:09. You will get another one the first time your balance is changed after 30 days, so the earliest would be 12-28. You can probably see this information at https://steemd.com/@qubes (I used the CLI wallet).

Thanks for digging that up. I really don't recall ever having a balance of SBD until I deposited the value of one bitcoin into savings. At the time, it said I would be getting 15% interest. Hehe. bitcoin would have rendered $120 profit had I left well enough along in my wallet. Still, I am looking for somewhere to park money without having all my eggs in one basket. SP did quite well for me until the recent end to interest.

It's definitely a research project . . . . The beta tag isn't there because of bugs (Steemit seems to only have as many as your average non-beta commercial code and less than most websites) -- but because we are in uncharted territory here (and the constant navigation changes make creating and maintaining documentation and keeping user knowledge current nearly impossible.

The current value of my Steem holdings is way below what I've put into it. Hopefully that will turn around and Steemit will thrive. These changes, as painful as they are, are, I believe, the highest probability path to that goal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62854.40
ETH 2463.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65