Photo Bio #7 - An Alien Utopia to Photograph In Your Own Backyard!

Back when got my first SLR, it came with the 18-55mm kit lens. I was excited to finally have a camera like the ones I had seen on TV, and all of a sudden I felt liberated because I now I could switch lenses without having to buy a whole new camera! The problem was that I didn’t have any money, and it became very obvious very quickly that I wouldn’t be able to afford any real glass any time soon.

While browsing through cheap Ebay listings I’d often see these screw on filters that would turn your kit lens into a macro lens. It’s like being able to get high resolution photographs while looking through a microscope. I quickly purchased a set, like the one you see above. There are several lenses, each of which add a bit of magnification to your kit lens, enabling you to get really close to the object you’re focusing on and snap away.

At this point of my life, I was eager to shoot, and more interested in finding things to photograph than come up with concepts. I began going into our very plain backyard and photographing bugs and insects up close. It seemed no matter how close that you got, much of the time it wouldn’t phase them. This was a great opportunity to learn the settings of my camera a bit better, learn how to compose images with living subjects, and get a closer look at alien like life. Forgive me, many of these shots were shot at max ISO. I hadn’t learned my settings yet, and for a short time I was under the impression that it made sense to always have your ISO at 1600, which is not the case. It made for many of my perfectly well lit shots wind up very grainy.

If you’re new to photography, and think that the place you live is boring, and there’s nothing interesting in photography. I encourage you to try getting a set of close-up macro screw on filters. You’d be amazed how beautiful some things are close up. From rust patterns, to snowflakes, to alien looking bugs there are always interesting shooting opportunities getting missed by just about everyone.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 16:39:14
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 51.70/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jonathansippel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31