TIME-LAPSE THURSDAY CONTEST IS OPEN - Share your long-exposure photos of nature!

in #naturephotocontest7 years ago (edited)

“Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.” ~ Khalil Gibran

Ice-Pieces-Blue-Ocean-Nature-Wallpaper.jpg

PHOTO CREDIT: https://wallhere.com/en/wallpaper/105614

THE TIME-LAPSE THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST IS OPEN!

To participate, submit an original photo and a short description in the comments section of this post. The contest is open until tomorrow morning, 9:00 AM EST, March 2. By entering this contest, you agree to have your photo featured in a post the following day and automatically entered in the weekly and monthly contests, should it be a winner. For a detailed and updated description of the contest, please check the Introduction Post.

The judge for today’s contest is Derek Kind (@derekkind), a landscape photographer from Canada who likes to go on long travel adventures to places like Iceland, the Southwest USA and the Rocky Mountains. He recently completed a tree-month long cross-Canada trip, and can’t wait to get back on the road.

Looking forward to your submissions!


If you haven’t yet, check out these stunning photo galleries featuring previous winners:
Mountains Monday Winners Week #1
Trees Tuesday Winners Week #1
Water Wednesday Winners Week #1

NATURE PHOTO CONTEST DAILY THEMES:
Mountains Monday (previous judge: @shadalene)
Trees Tuesday (previous judge: @caseygrimley)
Water Wednesday (current judge: @photovisions)
Time-lapse Thursday (current judge: @derekkind)
Flora and Fauna Friday (upcoming judge: @sjarvie5)
Simple Sunday (upcoming judge: @yumyumseth)

Sort:  

EruptingVolcano.jpg

Imagine watching an explosion while experiencing an earthquake and listening to a sonic boom. Then as you stare numbly into space your trance is broken by the whistling noise of the magma falling from the sky with the hope it falls short of where you are standing. This is a wide angle long exposure shot (using a 10mm lens; aka very close up) of an eruption taken from the crater rim of Mt Yasur volcano on Tanna Island, Vanuatu. Quite the unnerving experience as each of those blocks of magma is about the size of a refrigerator!

Image taken by and remains the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Thank you for your submission!

Wow. So great the LE master @derekkind is judging as it give us all a chance of actually winning it if he can't enter !!

My longexposure photo, i love landscape photography and right next to it it's astrophotograhy. I actually started with astrophotography, because of it i got myself my first camera !

DSC01759.jpg

Astrophotography is so much fun. Im a big astronomy fan myself. I have even tought about buying a telescope one day where i can attach my camera to, but yeah this fun comes with a price :D

Same reason I got into photography!

Thank you for your submission!

Busy weekends in Tahoe are great for shots like this. This was shot last Labor Day, as all the tourist traffic was leaving the area. Hwy 80 can be seen on the left, Donner Lake and Truckee, California can also be seen on the left. The main winding road in front is Old Hwy 40 and if you look close, you can see Rainbow Bridge on the right. Oh, and the bright light is the moon of course.

Full Moon Above Donner Lake 8.jpg
click image to view large

More about how I shot and processed this on my latest post.

Thank you for your submission!

Thats a cool shot.

Thank you @intrepidphotos! It was a tricky one to get.

IMG_4158.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

This is one of my favorite night shots done using long exposure technique. Northern parts of Norway are most beautiful in winter time - expecially in night time when we can expect Aurora lights on the sky or, like here - fast moving clouds, stars and full moon light on the ground. Exposure time was 105 seconds. Mountain area near Grong, Norway.

Thank you for your submission!

That's beautiful!!

So it was a chilled night up at top in mountains in Himalayas, due to the body still adjusting to the altitude I couldn't sleep, I went out of my tent and thought this is a really good chance to try a long exposure photograph and I got this one, One of the best nights with camera .. :)

25399168_10155884836823864_8841070430671609128_n.jpg

Thank you for your submission! Could you please provide a short description?

Spectacular location! I'm curious about what lens you were using here? :)

Thanks you @derekkind, I used AF-S NIKKOR 14-24MM F/2.8G ED, a freind was kind enough to lend me that, usually I use my Nikon P530 which don't have much options for long exposure :D

Oh, that's awesome! I almost thought it might be a fisheye, but it was hard to tell. Yeah, it's fun to have more control over long exposure, eh? That was my favourite part about getting my first DSLR. Congrats! :)

561 Second exposure of Genji fireflies dancing above a river, taken in Okayama, Japan.

ff1.jpg

Thanks for your submission!

Really cool! I've done this here in Canada but I hear that the fireflies in Japan are remarkable!

Cold


cold.jpg


I took this photo of Kirkjufellfoss/Kirkjufell on my one-day circumnavigation of Iceland during a trip in June. I left Jokulsarlon after waking up in my tent, checked the weather in different areas all over the island and saw that the sun would be peaking below the clouds (possibly) along the north side of the Island and everything else would be mostly cloudy/gray. Jokulsarlon is in the South/Southeast of Iceland so it was going to take some driving. This photo was taken at about 11pm. I have some other photos for what it looked like at different areas at 1-ish am along the north and then back around at Stokksnes/Vestrahorn around 3am. It was a fun challenge, also, in summer, sleeping for the night isn't really a thing there, one just kind of takes naps. My favorite thing is to just bring a tent and crash when I need to wherever I am. Enjoy!

Anyway, this photo is a panorama consisting of several vertical long exposures of about 5 minutes per exposure. Enjoy and happy Time-Lapse Thursday! :P


Exposure Details:
Camera: Nikon D810
Lens: Nikon AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
14mm/ƒ/11/310s/ISO 64


Thanks for your submission!

The first ever "Pole Dancing with the Stars" with the incredible Holly Ann Jarvis

This is a single exposure of 13 seconds with flash.
Pole Dancing with the Stars-20150613-227-Edit.jpg

Thank you for your submission!

I like that its a single exposure ;-)

This is my long exposure shot of the half frozen waterfall in Estonia. Water formed big caves of ice there and made scenery look amazing. image

Thank you for your submission!

That's amazing!!!

You are right !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62708.03
ETH 2457.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62