You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TEXTURES THURSDAY NATURE PHOTO CONTEST IS OPEN!

Really... okay... I'll keep that in mind. We're going away soon to a very isolated area. It's nice and dark out there, not a lot of open space where we'll be staying though, I've been thinking maybe we could go for a drive at night... just not sure about the wildlife out there though! But I'm going to have a bit of a play, either way. : )

Sort:  

I hope you have fun! Get some nice long exposures of the stars!

Well... I'm going to have a try. I've never done that before and I have no idea how to do it. I'm going to try and find some info before we leave. I don't usually take the tripod camping but I will this time! : )

A tripod and a long exposure (15-30 seconds) with a wide aperture will get you started! :)

That's all? That's long enough! Do you need to heavily edit your milky way photos to reveal all the stars? I'm out of data atm, it's meant to roll over tonight (I hope!). Once I get some decent speeds back I'll check out some videos online.

That's a VERY general exposure time, but it's a start. You usually do need a bit of work to bring out detail in the Milky Way (assuming you're in an area that's dark enough to see it at all, and that the moon is close to new) but photographing the stars is (unfortunately) one of the things where the type of camera you have and the lens plays a huge role.

Yes my camera is quite old now... the amount of times I have had it serviced and fixed I could have bought several new cameras. Anyway... And I do only have a few lenses... probably not what I need to do amazing shots like yours. I'll have a play never the less and see what happens. New moon, like full moon? Wouldn't that be a bad thing?

New moon, like NO moon. If you have any prime lenses with wide apertures like 1.4, 2, 2.8, try those - you want to gather as much light as possible. :)

Ah okay... that sounds better! Okay, I'll check it out. Thank you!! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64