You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Sixth Mass Extinction

in #nature6 years ago

You're right, and I'm sorry if I came across as though I know anything about the precise causes of our current extinction phase. I certainly am very skeptic about the claim that GW is A ;-) Like you said: there have been periods with much higher concentrations of CO2 in the atmosphere. But these concentrations were built in much larger timescales; it's the speed at which we extract CO2 from sediments that normally would take ages to be released. But I believe we affect the environment in many more ways than just that. And I strongly believe that a lot of those reasons, as well as the fact that we still burn fossil fuels, are rooted in our wasteful economic model and the "forces", as you call them, behind that model.

We fully agree on the propaganda to btw ;-)

Thanks so much for this very true and valuable addition @valued-customer :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56